Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
Pleasantly surprised by this tasty recipe! Never had Colcannon before so didn't know what to expect. Super-easy to make and even my tobasco-loving / cabbage-hating husband liked it! I used nutmeg, as others did, because I did not have mace. I used 1/2 tsp and tasted perfect. Also used green onions (about 4) as I couldn't find leeks, and was fine. The butter really makes it in my opinion, so load it on! Surprisingly filling. Went excellent with thick homemade wheat bread & made a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Oh, soooooo good. Great St. Patty's day side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
This was excellent!! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
This did not inspire. It was bland and I kept wishing I was just eating mashed potatoes instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Wilson
Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My husband and I both love this dish. I even impressed my Irish mother-in-law when I made it for dinner at her house one evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jami

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I only used 1 leek, and it took over 4 cups of milk to cover it to simmer. I don't know if my leek was huge compared to the ones the recipe author used, but it was the same size as all the other ones in the grocery store. So, I had to waste a lot of milk by simmmering the leek in a ton of milk and then draining it off so the the end product wasn't a milk soup. Also, I think the recipe needs more than just a pinch of mace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I make this a lot. I omit the mace, and purée the leeks with the milk. Lately I've been using half the amount of butter called for -- once I even forgot to put it in altogether, and it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Panya V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
The kids loved this! I am making it again tonight by request for my stepdaughter's b-day dinner. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flame

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockingham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Great for using all that cabbage on St Pats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
I made this along with other traditional dishes for my (Irish) clan on St. Patrick's Day. It was a hit. Very surprisingly savory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States