Colcannon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I saw this recipe featured on St. Patty's Day and saved it. I had planned to make it with Corned Beef Brisket as a side, but didn't get around to making this until later. I substituted nutmeg for the mace since I didn't want to drive to the market. I loved the taste of the dish but seemed a little unfinished/unmelded. So, I took the leftovers, put them in a baking dish, mixed in a 1/2 c. heavy cream, additional nutmeg and baked it off in the oven at 300 for 45 minutes. Oh! Over the top goodness. Yum! The flavors of the leeks, potatoes and cabbage together along with the little bit of ground nutmeg was delicious, perfect comfort food. I will make this again and experiment with kale or sub in Napa cabbage. I really enjoyed Colcannon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
My Irish relattives in Gorey, tell me that this dish is traditionally only made at Halloween, but of course if it is good then anytime you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I make it using cauliflower instead of potatoes to reduce carbs for diabetics in the house. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Fleming

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I tried this, but as a last-minute addition to a meal, and had to make several modifications. I had no cabbage, but used Brussels Sprouts; I also ran out of milk, so the leeks were simply boiled in water. Still came out very tasty - I plan on trying this more in keeping with the recipe to compare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grady R Patterson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I made this for my Brazilian family who rarely try "ethnic" foods. They loved it and have requested it at family meals many times since.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRECKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
Another way to veg up the dinner. My wife and I both enjoy this recipe as an alternative to plain mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Wow - mashed potatoes times 10. I took some of the reviewers' suggestions and fried up my cabbage in bacon grease, and then added the crumbled bacon in at the end. This was SO good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Delicious! A hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Unique and delicious. However, it did not turn any shade of green. I sautéed the cabbage and some onion adding kale at the end for more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make perfect corned beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States