Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perhaps you meant 3 pounds versus 3 potatoes? This was delicious...I added 10 oz of chopped ham to make it a one course meal. Would make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Made this for St. Paddys and everyone loved it. So filling and rich, but so, so delicious! I must confess, however, that I did start by frying up about a half pound of bacon, and then sauted the cabbage, leeks and onions in the bacon grease, and added the bacon back in the dish before baking. Boy, that was decadent and fattening, but divine! The whole family loved this and have been asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My potatoes were kind of small (organic reds) so I used a few more. I didn't have bouillion cubes but I did have chicken Better than bouillion so I used a couple teaspoons of that. Because I always make colcannon with bacon, I did add a half pound of cooked, crumbled turkey bacon. This was super yummy--we all enjoyed it quite a bit. A new unique way to eat colcannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
VERY GOOD! I did add a little extra salt and pepper, but that was my own preference. I would definately make this more often than just on St. Patrick's Day, and I intend to! Also, I did assemble this the night before and just baked it off the next day...it worked out perfectly! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Great recipe! I used 2 bags of shredded hashbrowns instead of mashed potatoes. Chopped medium head of cabbage with 4 leeks, sauteed in olive oil with salt till tender. Combined with uncooked hash browns and other ingredients (except bouillon because I had none ) added some garlic powder and paprika. I put cheese inside the mixture, added some extra on top at the end of baking. Went well with pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Thank you so much for posting a recipe that actually sounds like Colcannon. I have always prepared or purchased in an Irish pub Colcannon that is made with Irish bacon, two kinds of cabbage and BAKED. That's the only way I have ever had it. I don't know what to call the other socalled Colcannon recipes I saw on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Turned out very good, with a nice flavor. I used 5 large potatoes (Costco size), and also put 5 crushed garlic cloves in with the potatoes. Next time I think I will add some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommato2loves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Yummy! Made this last night to go with the corned beef for our "early" St. Patrick's day supper. Used kale instead of cabbage (my preference), used 10 very small white rose potatoes (all I had), and added about 1/2 lb. bacon, diced and cooked crispy. Forgot to add the bit of milk -oops! Came out perfect! Just fit into my large Pyrex deep-dish pie plate. Hubby loved the addition of the bacon, and the leeks added a nice bit of sweetness. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I doubled this and took it to a St Patty's Day Potluck, and it was a huge hit! 4 people asked for the recipe. I left out the leeks, but other than that followed it exactly. I made it up the night before, then baked it just before the party. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Tried this one for St. Patties day and am SO glad I did! YUMMM! I will definitely make this again~often! Followed the recipe (except didn't use leeks)...used about 10-12 red potatoes and a med size head of cabbage, (+generous salt & pepper). Even took some leftovers to work today and was a hit! Can't wait to try with bacon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States