Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Thank you so much for posting a recipe that actually sounds like Colcannon. I have always prepared or purchased in an Irish pub Colcannon that is made with Irish bacon, two kinds of cabbage and BAKED. That's the only way I have ever had it. I don't know what to call the other socalled Colcannon recipes I saw on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Perhaps you meant 3 pounds versus 3 potatoes? This was delicious...I added 10 oz of chopped ham to make it a one course meal. Would make again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
VERY GOOD! I did add a little extra salt and pepper, but that was my own preference. I would definately make this more often than just on St. Patrick's Day, and I intend to! Also, I did assemble this the night before and just baked it off the next day...it worked out perfectly! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
wonderful!!I just added some pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was great. Went over very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoBlueberry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
Made this for St. Paddys and everyone loved it. So filling and rich, but so, so delicious! I must confess, however, that I did start by frying up about a half pound of bacon, and then sauted the cabbage, leeks and onions in the bacon grease, and added the bacon back in the dish before baking. Boy, that was decadent and fattening, but divine! The whole family loved this and have been asking me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Lovely dish. I used more leeks than onion as I have so much in the garden. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Deep River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up some cabbage and found this one. I didn't have sour cream, leeks or chicken bouillon, so I used mayo and onion. Also added some bacon. It was really good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Delicious and very comforting. I didn't use the leeks and added some polksa kielbasa in with the cabbage and onion while it was cooking. I think the amount of potatoes is wrong in the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My potatoes were kind of small (organic reds) so I used a few more. I didn't have bouillion cubes but I did have chicken Better than bouillion so I used a couple teaspoons of that. Because I always make colcannon with bacon, I did add a half pound of cooked, crumbled turkey bacon. This was super yummy--we all enjoyed it quite a bit. A new unique way to eat colcannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States