Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Made this today - not a fan - found it to be dry (even though I added more milk and sour cream) and too strong of an onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
It was a hit at our couple's get together. I made it with 3 pounds of potatoes, 6 cups of shredded cabbage and only 3 tablespoons of butter. Keep all the other ingredients the same. It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Wonderful to see a Colcannon recipe! I have been making it for my family for well over 30 years after learning it in the kitchen of my great grandmother, a first generation Irish American. Hers always had Irish bacon and years later I substituted corned beef as a way to use my St. Patrick's day leftovers. Now I make 2-3 times more than is necessary for our St. Paddy's day dinner so that we can have homemade corned beef hash and colcannon from the leftovers. I gave this recipe 4 stars because the authentic dish includes bacon which gives a whole mother flavor dimension.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
what a great dish and such a hit in mine and my sisters home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Very yummy, although I did add 1/2 lb of bacon so that made for a very fattening dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
We LOVE LOVE LOVE this! Made this last night for the two of us and we are looking forward to having the leftovers tonight! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Yum, yum, yum! We're Scottish, not Irish, but we loved this anyway. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Absolutely fabulous! I added some chopped ham at the end, a little paprika and garlic powder. Replaced mashed taters with frozen hashbrowns like other reviewers said, and skipped on the boullion. Also used scallions cuz that's what I had on hand. SOOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I have made another verson of this that has no cheese but has the addition of shreaded ham. The ham takes it to a whole other level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Great idea and a tasty dish. I used kale, and the store didn't have leeks so I used green onions. I added shredded cheese to the potato mixture, and because I was short on time and needed to get dinner on the table, I used frozen mashed potatoes. I omitted the butter and milk as the potatoes already contained them. The end result was a hit, and Next time I'll try with cabbage and fresh potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States