Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
A great hearty casserole. I used pre-packaged shredded cabbage, which cut down on some of the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was delicious!!! Thumbs up by the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was so awesome my Irish husband said it was the best cabbage he ever had!! I didn't add the leeks and I didn't shred the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Delicious!!! I added green garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Great recipe. I am a huge fan of leeks and potatoes. Whenever I can combine them in a recipe, I do. I made this exactly as directed (which is the only way that you should if you are to review it) and thought it was outstanding. Change nothing and keep up the awesome meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This will be my healthier alternative to scalloped potatoes. I had some left over ham and added maybe 1/2 cup of it to the recipe, used small red potatoes with the skins on for more nutrition & color, and used a coleslaw/carrot ready mix. Also used vegetable broth because I had it on hand & it enabled me to cut down on the butter. It was very colorful & a bit healthier with these changes - but as I stated in the beginning, this turned into an alternative to scalloped potatoes. I will follow the directions "as is" for the next Irish meal that I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Everyone loved this. Great recipe to make ahead of time and pop in the oven for dinner. Went terrific as is with the corned beef. Next time I make it I will add ham and bacon to make it a complete meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a great side with corned beef today for Paddy's Day. I did make a few changes. I used about 6 med.-large potatoes and about 1/2 cup of warm milk. I also omitted the bouillon cubes as I used some bacon instead for some great flavor. While the potatoes were cooking, I fried up about 1/2 lb of bacon and used some reserved bacon grease to saute the sweet onion and shredded cabbage. After 40 minutes bake time, I sprinkled the bacon and topped with cheese for the last 10 minutes. I did find it slightly dry and will add more cream next time. Even cabbage haters will enjoy this! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Really liked this, very tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time last St. Patrick's Day (2012)and again just last night. Yum-O! I did do some slight changes... Used 4 potatoes instead of 3. Used an entire cube of butter and 3 cubes of the chicken bouillon. Also, for step #3 I fried up 1/2 lb. of bacon first, once cooked, I then added the cabbage, leeks and onions directly to the pan with the bacon grease. I believe I read this suggestion by another reviewer last year and tried it this year. Wow, it sure adds to the flavor! Everyone absolutely loved this as our "starchy" side dish as apposed to the traditional red pototes served with corned beef and cabbage. I also forgot about the first 40 min. baking time and cooked it probably another 10-15 on top of that without realizing it. It was perfect and crispy on top, not burnt at all. Then I added the cheese and gave it just enough time to melt the cheese. This will be our traditional "side" for St. Patrick's Day from here on out!!! (Oh, one last thing, as far as the prep time, it took a lot longer for me, but well worth the effort!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States