Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Frugal food at its finest! ... I used leftover mashed potatoes, a quarter head of cabbage that had been sitting in the fridge for 2 months, the green top part of leeks that I had leftover from another dish, and bacon strips left over from last week's breakfast. (plus the other ingredients). Almost all from leftovers, and it STILL tasted terrific! You really can't go wrong with this one :-) Thanks so much for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made it for an St. Patrick's Day party and almost all of it went - I did a triple batch. Went over really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Easy to make and very good. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I doubled this and took it to a St Patty's Day Potluck, and it was a huge hit! 4 people asked for the recipe. I left out the leeks, but other than that followed it exactly. I made it up the night before, then baked it just before the party. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Tried this one for St. Patties day and am SO glad I did! YUMMM! I will definitely make this again~often! Followed the recipe (except didn't use leeks)...used about 10-12 red potatoes and a med size head of cabbage, (+generous salt & pepper). Even took some leftovers to work today and was a hit! Can't wait to try with bacon next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Turned out very good, with a nice flavor. I used 5 large potatoes (Costco size), and also put 5 crushed garlic cloves in with the potatoes. Next time I think I will add some bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommato2loves

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Yummy! Made this last night to go with the corned beef for our "early" St. Patrick's day supper. Used kale instead of cabbage (my preference), used 10 very small white rose potatoes (all I had), and added about 1/2 lb. bacon, diced and cooked crispy. Forgot to add the bit of milk -oops! Came out perfect! Just fit into my large Pyrex deep-dish pie plate. Hubby loved the addition of the bacon, and the leeks added a nice bit of sweetness. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monrovia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
My potatoes were kind of small (organic reds) so I used a few more. I didn't have bouillion cubes but I did have chicken Better than bouillion so I used a couple teaspoons of that. Because I always make colcannon with bacon, I did add a half pound of cooked, crumbled turkey bacon. This was super yummy--we all enjoyed it quite a bit. A new unique way to eat colcannon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Delicious and very comforting. I didn't use the leeks and added some polksa kielbasa in with the cabbage and onion while it was cooking. I think the amount of potatoes is wrong in the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I was looking for a recipe to use up some cabbage and found this one. I didn't have sour cream, leeks or chicken bouillon, so I used mayo and onion. Also added some bacon. It was really good. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States