Colcannon Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Everyone loved this. Great recipe to make ahead of time and pop in the oven for dinner. Went terrific as is with the corned beef. Next time I make it I will add ham and bacon to make it a complete meal in itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Munson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was a great side with corned beef today for Paddy's Day. I did make a few changes. I used about 6 med.-large potatoes and about 1/2 cup of warm milk. I also omitted the bouillon cubes as I used some bacon instead for some great flavor. While the potatoes were cooking, I fried up about 1/2 lb of bacon and used some reserved bacon grease to saute the sweet onion and shredded cabbage. After 40 minutes bake time, I sprinkled the bacon and topped with cheese for the last 10 minutes. I did find it slightly dry and will add more cream next time. Even cabbage haters will enjoy this! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Really liked this, very tasty and comforting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time last St. Patrick's Day (2012)and again just last night. Yum-O! I did do some slight changes... Used 4 potatoes instead of 3. Used an entire cube of butter and 3 cubes of the chicken bouillon. Also, for step #3 I fried up 1/2 lb. of bacon first, once cooked, I then added the cabbage, leeks and onions directly to the pan with the bacon grease. I believe I read this suggestion by another reviewer last year and tried it this year. Wow, it sure adds to the flavor! Everyone absolutely loved this as our "starchy" side dish as apposed to the traditional red pototes served with corned beef and cabbage. I also forgot about the first 40 min. baking time and cooked it probably another 10-15 on top of that without realizing it. It was perfect and crispy on top, not burnt at all. Then I added the cheese and gave it just enough time to melt the cheese. This will be our traditional "side" for St. Patrick's Day from here on out!!! (Oh, one last thing, as far as the prep time, it took a lot longer for me, but well worth the effort!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Delicious! I love the fact that it had cabbage instead of kale in it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This was very good! I made a corned beef in the crock pot with carrots and this went with it great! I followed the recipe to a T, except I had some bacon crumbles so I threw them in for added flavor. At first I was a little worried because when I mashed the potatoes they seemed too runny, but as they baked they thickened up nicely. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Follow the recipe precisely and you can't go wrong. This is an outstanding dish, everyone I serve it to loves it. The best colcannon I ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Burcham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
My husband, who thinks he doesn't like cabbage, enjoyed this dish enough to eat it for days. Like others, I added a small cubed ham. What a great way to use up a cabbage!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
This is a delicious recipe. I didn't have leeks, so I just added extra cabbage. I used about 5 large potatoes rather than the 3 that the recipe requires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnamon Deutsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Delicious and simple! I used vegetable bouillon to make it vegetarian. Did not have leeks so I substituted scallions for flavor and color. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Diane's Colcannon

A comforting combination of potatoes, cabbage, onion, and bacon.

How to Make Colcannon

See how to make a traditional mashed potato dish for St. Patrick’s Day.

Celery Root and Cheese Bake

Slices of celeriac bake in a creamy sauce topped with Cheddar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States