Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
excellent. I was so surprised. the whole family loved it. I like it a little tangier, so i had a cruet of vinegar and just a few drops made it perfect. Good job Drew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I had a dinner party and served this. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I added a little sugar, only because I prefer it a little on the sweet side. I will be serving this one again! It is very easy to prepare. By the way, I am not a sauerkraut lover, but this was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2004
The best of this GENERATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I only used 1/2 the amount of butter. I chopped up a couple pieces of bacon and sauted it with the butter and onions. I only added an 8 oz can of soda because I only ever buy the "baby" cans. I also added about a tsp. of caraway seed. I really liked it. My husband liked it as well. I don't know that I would use this on reubens or brats though. I wrote that about 4 hrs. ago. My husband just reheated some and said it's even better after it's had time for the flavors to come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This recipe really took me back to when I was growing up with my Lithuanian Grandma cooking pork roasts. I was never able to authenticate her sauerkraut until this recipe. I rinsed the brine very well from the sauerkraut first as I try to watch my sodium consumption. I did not cook the sauerkraut in the liquid the whole time, but drained it after it heated through about fifteen minutes and then added to my pork roast with kielbassi. The flavor was excellent, I also added some carway seeds to the kraut. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Excellent. Something about the cola takes the bite out of the kraut. I will fix this often as a side dish. My 9 year old daughter didn't try it until after our meal was over, while we were cleaning up. She took several bites of the leftovers from the pan and said if there would have been enough, she would have sat down and ate a whole bowl. I scaled the recipe down to 4 servings and I cut down on the unhealthy saturated fat by just using a TBSP of real butter and a TBSP of Heart Smart spread and it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stressedcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was so easy and the taste was wonderful - very subtle. The only change I made was to add a tbls. of sugar as one reviewer suggested. I served it with chipatole crusted pork tenderloin (on this site). There is quite a bit left over so I will make a kielbasa tomorrow and serve the rest with that! Thanks submitter - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This is a tasty variation on sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This recipe is the greatest! I have only had sauerkraut a few times but with this recipe I will be adding it to the menu a lot more often. I did follow others advice and add a Tbsp of sugar and a shot of vinegar. Next time I might cut back on the butter but this was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrelgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was VERY good. I served it for Easter and everyone was asking how I made it. Even the kids ate it. I did add a few dashes of Red Wine Vinegar and a few pinches of sugar. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States