Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Reminds me of growing up and having sauerkraut and weiners :-) ... only better. The butter and onions were the real kicker. I also threw in a dash of balsamic vinegar, 2 tblsp brown sugar, and a polish sausage cut into 1/2" slices. Wonderful blend of sweet and tangy. Great one-dish meal served with warm pumpernickel bread and sweet honey butter. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I thought it was good but nothing to brag about. I added some brown sugar and that seemed to help a bit. Could have probably had the same result if I just cooked sauerkraut with small amount of butter and just the brown sugar. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Turned out pretty good. I didn't modify the recipe, other than scaling it to 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Mmmmmm good! I made this in our slow cooker with a couple modifications: Drained the sauerkraut, added a 12 oz. package of fresh mushrooms quartered and 1# of frozen polish kielbasa cut into 3" chunks. My fiance said it was the best sauerkraut I've ever made for him....even better than my German mom's recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
A very nice variation. I added caraway seeds and some vinegar, as well as a dash of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
The Best I Have Ever Had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Normally, I would have heated up a can of sauerkraut and maybe tossed in some chopped onions and a bit of beer. I can't imagine cooking sauerkraut any other way now. I did add about a Tablespoon of Carraway seed. Loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
very good. I am giving it a 4 because of the changes. Only needed one 14oz can as it was PLENTY. Added the tbs apple cider vinegar and the caraway seeds per other reviewers. And a pinch of sugar. Turned out great. Served with Knackwurst and german potato salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I stumbled on to this recipe and was hesitant at first, but this is a great way to make sauerkraut!! Before I would fry it like my Mom did with onions and a little garlic then I added some brown sugar to it or I would bake it with the pork roast, but this recipe beats the other ways by far! So simple and has a great taste, my husband really goes "bananas" when I make this with pork roast!! The flavor is just great! This recipe replaces Mom's. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
best I've ever made.I held onto the kraut juice in case I wanted to add more.This is a winner, I'll stick with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States