Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Good either hot or cold. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1 1/2 TBSP of Balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'll give this recipe 5 stars with the addition of my husband's changes. It is a great recipe to cut the tart flavour of the sauerkraut. We made 3L of sauerkraut and added 1/2 lb of crumbled bacon and about 3/4 cup chopped leftover ham and one grated potato. The resulting flavour was a bit too mild and we added a couple Tbsp of balsamic vinegar as others have suggested. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I'm giving this a 3 because I could stomach it at all -- I don't like sauerkraut, but made it for my half-German husband, who would probably rate it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I l-o-v-e sauerkraut, so when I came across this recipe, I had to give it a shot. I didn't change a thing, except the number of servings, since I was the only one eating this. It doesn't taste much different to me, so I'm guessing it's one of those recipes where the flavor comes through the following day as leftovers. Regardless, this is a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by EQUILDOTTSIN
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Reminds me of growing up and having sauerkraut and weiners :-) ... only better. The butter and onions were the real kicker. I also threw in a dash of balsamic vinegar, 2 tblsp brown sugar, and a polish sausage cut into 1/2" slices. Wonderful blend of sweet and tangy. Great one-dish meal served with warm pumpernickel bread and sweet honey butter. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I thought it was good but nothing to brag about. I added some brown sugar and that seemed to help a bit. Could have probably had the same result if I just cooked sauerkraut with small amount of butter and just the brown sugar. Probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Turned out pretty good. I didn't modify the recipe, other than scaling it to 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PARABIANS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boyd, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Mmmmmm good! I made this in our slow cooker with a couple modifications: Drained the sauerkraut, added a 12 oz. package of fresh mushrooms quartered and 1# of frozen polish kielbasa cut into 3" chunks. My fiance said it was the best sauerkraut I've ever made for him....even better than my German mom's recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
A very nice variation. I added caraway seeds and some vinegar, as well as a dash of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISEREADER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
The Best I Have Ever Had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States