Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Normally, I would have heated up a can of sauerkraut and maybe tossed in some chopped onions and a bit of beer. I can't imagine cooking sauerkraut any other way now. I did add about a Tablespoon of Carraway seed. Loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
very good. I am giving it a 4 because of the changes. Only needed one 14oz can as it was PLENTY. Added the tbs apple cider vinegar and the caraway seeds per other reviewers. And a pinch of sugar. Turned out great. Served with Knackwurst and german potato salad. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
I stumbled on to this recipe and was hesitant at first, but this is a great way to make sauerkraut!! Before I would fry it like my Mom did with onions and a little garlic then I added some brown sugar to it or I would bake it with the pork roast, but this recipe beats the other ways by far! So simple and has a great taste, my husband really goes "bananas" when I make this with pork roast!! The flavor is just great! This recipe replaces Mom's. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frackville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: West Lawn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2006
best I've ever made.I held onto the kraut juice in case I wanted to add more.This is a winner, I'll stick with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This was great. I did modify a little...I started out with margerine and sauted the onions until translucent, then I added real bacon bits as well as black pepper. I added the sauerkraut and diet cola with a large pinch of white sugar. After a few moments of simmering I added a 1/2 teaspoon of dried red peppers to perk it up a little bit. Everyone enjoyed it with their pork roast. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Not so good! Added twice as much Coke, still was very sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENLOVES2COOK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olmsted Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
This was VERY good. I served it for Easter and everyone was asking how I made it. Even the kids ate it. I did add a few dashes of Red Wine Vinegar and a few pinches of sugar. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Way better than just plain Saurkraut! I used a 24 oz. jar of Saurkraut, which I now think I should have drained prior to using in this recipe. I used 1/8 cup butter, one chopped onion, and one can of beer. Then I tasted it and it needed a kick, so I added about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar. I'll be eating this with corned beef sandwiches and loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
This recipe is the greatest! I have only had sauerkraut a few times but with this recipe I will be adding it to the menu a lot more often. I did follow others advice and add a Tbsp of sugar and a shot of vinegar. Next time I might cut back on the butter but this was still excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrelgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This is a tasty variation on sauerkraut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WarringEagle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States