Cola Sauerkraut Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I've made bar-b-que sauce with cola before so thought this sounded interesting. I prefer a sweet sauerkraut and this was perfect after I added 1/4 cup brown sugar. To reduce salt, rinse the kraut several times and wring out excess moisture before preparing. To make this into a whole meal, add cut up potatoes and sliced smoked keilbasa while cooking. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This was so delicious - I put two cans Frank's sweet sauerkraut, 3# country ribs, about 12/15 little red potatoes, a large onion, and a can of Coke - left it for about 8 hours on low in the crockpot - Oh, yum yum - everything was so good! Can't wait to make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
We added in smoked sausage dogs, and eat this on toasted hotdog buns. Out of a family of 6, 4 out of 6 enjoyed it. But hey, the two that didn't think it was wonderful, was my 2 youngest, ages 10, and 12. But Mom was in the mood for kraut, and when Mom cooks, you will at least try what Mom makes! LOL ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bedford, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Sorry- this took a long time and the taste was off and I'm European so I'm used to sauerkraut. I just wanted to try a different recipe. I'll just sit to frying it Thanks anyway...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Kind of sweet for me as I usually do the dill version of sauerkraut but it was good nevertheless. I used just a dab of butter. My conscience couldn't let me do more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
We tried this for New Years Day and what a great find. Everyone enjoyed this recipe, and begged for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
Best sauerkraut I've ever eaten. Even better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Good either hot or cold. The only change I made to the recipe was to add 1 1/2 TBSP of Balsamic vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I'll give this recipe 5 stars with the addition of my husband's changes. It is a great recipe to cut the tart flavour of the sauerkraut. We made 3L of sauerkraut and added 1/2 lb of crumbled bacon and about 3/4 cup chopped leftover ham and one grated potato. The resulting flavour was a bit too mild and we added a couple Tbsp of balsamic vinegar as others have suggested. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy Q

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Airdrie, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I'm giving this a 3 because I could stomach it at all -- I don't like sauerkraut, but made it for my half-German husband, who would probably rate it a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sauerkraut for Canning

See how to turn cabbage and salt into delicious homemade sauerkraut.

Grilled Coffee and Cola Skirt Steak

Cola and coffee create the perfect marinade for juicy skirt steak.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States