Cola Sauce Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
I've made something very similar but with jalopena peppers added to the cola instead of mushrooms and then simply baked until the meat is tender. The cola's sweetness takes the fire out of the peppers & makes a wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lexington, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This recipe was pretty sweet. I added more broth and garlic salt. I also added worchestire sauce and balsamic vinegar. I served over rice. It wound up being very good. My mom loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Burris

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This recipe was wonderful! I didn't have the recipe in front of me when I made it, so I inadvertently used the whole 14-oz. can of chicken broth, and correspondingly less cola. I served it over white rice, and my husband added soy sauce at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
I liked it. My boyfriend thought the sauce was a little "funny".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
Good flavor, but I agree, sauce is kind of sweet. Either use more chix broth or less cola. Kids loved it, very easy, I used skinless breast's and cooked 15 minutes. Worth another shot if you ask me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
THE COLA MADE THE MEAL DISGUSTINGLY SWEET, AND THE LITTLE BIT OF ROSEMARY OVERPOWERED THE WHOLE DISH. MY HUSBAND AND I COULDN'T STAND THE AFTER TASTE...YUCK!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This is an easy, impressive dish for a small dinner get-together. As a bonus, leftovers are scrumptious and since it falls into the tastes-better-the-next-day category, it can be prepared in advance -- save the saute part for just before the guests are to arrive. For extra punch, thicken with a giant can of undiluted chicken soup instead of flour (which also will stretch the leftovers, by the way) If you're garlic and onion freaks, like my family, double both ingredients (at least). I served the dish with rice pilaf and a very simple mixed-fruit salad, and people called the next day for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barcelona, Cataluna, Spain
Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
My family liked this recipe. Amazing that no one could pick out the cola taste. I did cut the sody by 1/4 cup and added more chicken broth. All around everyone liked it. Next time I will use a bit or salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLACKVELVETRAV

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
This was good and easy. I wouldn't bother cubing the chicken, I think it would be fine cooked whole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken in Cream Sauce

See how to make this savory Salvadorian stewed chicken dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States