Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
I only gave this recipe 4 stars for several reasons. I loved the addition of the cola. And the recipe is very easy to make. It makes the house smell great! And it is TASTY! But… 1. This recipe does not serve 16 people; it serves 6-8. An experienced cook will know that, but a new bride preparing her first dinner party may not. 2. Three carrots to serve 6-8 people? I used a pound of baby carrots. I also added a medium sweet onion, quartered and separated. 3. The meat definitely needed a meat rub. I use Lysander’s™ All Natural Meat Rub. 4. To make the gravy, try using a can of Campbell’s™ Golden Mushroom Soup thinned with the drippings from the roast and use Gravy Master™ or Kitchen Bouquet™ to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
BEER INSTEAD OF COLA. This a great recipe. I like to make it with a a bottle of beer instead of cola. Also add a good sized sweet onion quartered (or smaller if it is a large onion). Add four or five red potatoes, quartered, with skin on. Increase carrots to six. Dust with flour and salt and pepper and braise on hot stove with a little olive oil before putting in the pot. Cook in crock pot for four to five hours on high, or eight hours on low. Add more beer if not enough liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Don't let the "cola" scare you away from this recipe. In the past, every single time I add coke to a meat recipe (usually pork) it comes out sooo tender, which was the case here as well. I used a pepsi, but I did pick up on the sweetness (I drink diet coke, so maybe that's why & I'm not a pepsi fan either) but my family RAVED about how good this was and didn't make mention of any sweetness so it was probably me. For ease I stuck this all in the crock pot on high for 4 hours. I also used cream of celery soup because that is all I had on hand & then added chopped mushrooms instead of the chopped celery. Thanks Sher, will use again, my family kept saying how good it was ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I've made this several times, and we love it! I use Lipton's Beefy Onion soup mix and omit the gravy mix. I use the crock pot and add cornstarch about 20 minutes before the end if the gravy isn't thick enough. This is soooo delicious with mashed potatoes and "J.P's Big Daddy Biscuits" from this site. If there are leftovers I stir in a healthy dollop of sour cream and cooked mushrooms and serve over egg noodles for another meal. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This recipe is fantastic! Served to company tonight who said this was the "best meal ever." Served with mashed potatoes, asparagus, spinach/orange/radish/green onion salad, and garlic bread. As recommended, I inserted garlic slivers into meat before browning lean chuck roast for extra flavor; and added sliced baby portabella mushrooms, extra carrot and celery. I decreased recipe amount to serve six and, rather than adjusting soup, cola, and mixes, I used full can of soup, full package of gravy mix and onion soup mix, and a small bottle of Classic Coke. Gravy was superb and meat was fork tender and not stringy. Company asked for recipe which I gladly provided. Will definitely make again for family and company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
This was great. I fixed it in the slow cooker for 10 hours and used the whole pack of gravy mix. I also set it up the night before and let it set in the refrigerator to marinate. I don't normally like pot roast, but I will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
This was really wonderful!! I have cooked with "colas" before and I guess I am always surprised when people are surprised when it can be used as an ingredient. Cola is no more than sugar and coloring...add a few more items and you have BBQ sauce:) At any rate, this roast came out tender and juicy. I cooked mine in my crockpot (mainly because I work during the week) and I was totally pleased with the results! If you are looking for a thick gravy, you will need to make a slurry of cornstarch and water, pouring it into the juice until you get the desired thickness. This was a tender and flavorful way to make a roast with ease. Thanks for sharing...this will become a part of my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Leuschner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ferndale, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Excellent in a slow cooker! I used the entire can of cola (12 oz.) and added ground cumin to the gravy mixture. I rubbed the roast with grilling spice and added chopped up potatoes in the slow cooker. I cooked it on high for 4 hours, then sliced the roast and placed it back into the slow cooker for 1 hour on low heat. It turned out moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Excellent roast. I am not a huge roast fan but this one sold me. Everyone at Sunday dinner loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2005
I am going to echo the last reviewer..."YUMMY YUMMY...BEST ROAST I EVER MADE! BEST ROAST I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS TEMPEST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Not Specified, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States