Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was pretty yummy but I like the pot roast in foil better. Next time I think I will combine the two. I would still make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
This was good. I forgot to turn the roast over, so it wasn't as tender as it should have been. The gravy could have used some thickening too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Awesome! A MUST try! You will love it!! I add 6 cloves of garlic too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Best roast ever!!! I double the soups, gravy and coke and add potatoes. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
OMG!!!! This is an awesome dinner. Flavor was great. I did double the last 5 ingredients only because I love gravy. Also added 2 pounds of carrots and quartered potatoes. This was amazing and will keep around for a long time. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Kellstein

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overgaard, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Impressive! My crock-pot died on me, so I was forced to use my oven and I'm so glad I did. The roast was super tender...perfect. I can't wait to make for company. I used what I had on hand, cream of celery, mushroom gravy mix, and Dr.Pepper. I didn't notice a sweet taste and neither did my kids. Everything was so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolatekisses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Very Tasty and EASY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
This was very very good, followed the recipe to the T and it turned out great! served over a piece of texas toast with mashed potatoes and ate like an open faced sandwhich like they serve at BJs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mizz bunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have a super sore tooth, between the antibiotics and the painkillers, I was just looking for an easy meal to make my family, they've been eating take out and tv dinners for a couple of days, poor guys and I hate for them to eat such yuckola food. This was perfect! I was missing so many of the ingredients and still this turned out delicious. Like so many others, I rubbed the meat with spices (pepper, garlic powder, salt and red pepper flakes) then seared it quickly. Like I said before, I only had cream of mushroom soup, the onion soup mix, garlic and a small can of cola and that's it. The smell was enticing and by the time 4pm rolled around, I was so HUNGRRRY. The sauce is thin, so I made a quickie roux (flour and butter, in a pan over medium heat then slowly poured the sauce in, so so tasty. This was a super quick and easy meal and even I was able to eat it (very carefully on the not sore side of my mouth), I served it with microwave stuffed potatoes and green beans with cherry tomatoes, recipe on this site, it was plate licking tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This is a very good basic recipe and one that lends itself easily to customizing to one's tastes. I think 4 1/2 stars is just about right. It's a bit too plain for me, as written, to be a full 5 stars. I agree with one reviewer who suggested using a dry rub for the roast before placing into the crock pot. I used Montreal Steak seasoning by McCormack and it was perfect. I also love a rich mushroom gravy, so I added 1/2 a pound of sliced mushrooms to the mix. I think that instead of always relying on a plain brown gravy mix, one might amp up the recipe by using a chipotle or a bourbon and brown sugar flavored gravy, for example. The cola does wonders to help tenderize the meat but it does not lend a distinctly sweet flavor, either. Overall, then, this recipe is a true keeper. (By the way, the left- overs made a wonderful pot pie the following day. )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States