Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I love this recipe. I have even used a frozen roast and put it in the crock pot for 12 hours and it still turned out like a dream. My husband loves this recipe. I do use baby bella mushrooms instead of celery and add cut up potatoes. I have honestly never been much of a roast fan and this one just knocks my socks off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This was so easy and good. I pretty much followed the recipe. Added a bit more garlic (4 cloves) and added mushrooms, onions and a large quartered potatoe. It is so nice to come home from shopping and smell dinner cooking. This may be my favorite pot roast recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
We used chuck roast and it came out fantastic, I got a lot of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
i used cream of celery instead of cream of mushroom because i'm pregnant and the thought of mushrooms makes me gag. i also left out the brown gravy mix but added some fat free beef broth. the end result was a little soupy, but i know i could have added cornstarch if i had wanted to. i couldn't taste the coke, outright, but i will say the roast was delish, falling apart, hearty, flavorful, and it hit the spot. thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkpigeon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naples, Campania, Italy
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
Excellent! Didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I love this recipe! I used onion gravy mix instead and used the crockpot for 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
This was very good - definitely tasty, but I wouldn't say the best I have ever had. I cooked everything in crock pot on low for about 10 hours while I was at work. I used baby portabellas and a whole onion in addition to the carrots (which I used about 3/4 bag of baby carrots) and celery. I was a little concerned about lack of liquid, so once everything was in the crock pot, I threw a little splash of water in there. There was lots of "juice" to work with in the end and it was quite flavorful. I added another envelope of brown gravy mix, as I like my gravies super rich and, yes, a little salty. Even so, everyone thought the gravy and veggies were perfect, despite the addition of more gravy mix. I would make this again the same way, but will probably add some peas at the end of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2sabes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I used a 3# chuck roast that I coated with flour, montreal steak seasoning and garlic powder and then browned in a pan with olive oil on both sides. I didn't have any brown gravy mix or celeery so I just used the full 12 oz of coke, can of mushroom soup and onion soup packet. I added carrots and mushrroms and cooked in the crock pot for 8 hours on low and added some yukon gold potatoes for the last 2 hours. I love that there is a ready made gravy as soon as it's done. It was delicious! It fell apart and was so tender. My three boys said it was the best pot roast I have ever made! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARTIBOHL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very good! I also cooked the roast in a slow cooker for 10 hours, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
The gravy is good, but very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 724) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States