Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2015
This recipe was AMAZING. I was looking for a good recipe for a pot roast and I stumbled across a bunch of reviews raving how great it was so I decided to give it a try. I made a few modifications as I went along and it turned out great. I used 12 Oz of coke instead of 10 oz. After adding two bags of carrots (really thin carrots at store) and I like carrots. I added about 3 russet potatoes cubed. 3 celery stalks. 1 clove of elephant garlic. 1/4 cup water in addition to the cola. I had added extra ingredients (the extra carrots and potatoes) so I didn't want it to be dry. In my case I could only find about a 2 1/2 pound roast. I'd definitely recommend the 4 pounds if you van find it because it shrinks. After cooking for the first hour I turned it down to the 225 and cooked for an additional hour. At this time I had lots of juices so I drained what I could with a big spoon into a sauce pan and put it back in for another 30-40 minutes at 225 but after cutting into my sirloin it didn't seem cooked so I cut into 6 pieces and upped it to 350 degrees for another 20 minutes or so. Near the end I drained the rest of the juices and added that to my saucepan. Added 2 tablespoons of corn starch to hot liquid and brought it back to a ln almost boil which thickened the gravy. Made mashed potatoes to go with the gravy and a side of garlic bread. When I first put everything together (the brown gravy, the onion soup mix, and can of mushroom soup) when I added the cola it kind of f
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea Snow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I just made this tonight and wished i took a picture before my family inhaled it all! This recipe was so easy and had amazing flavor. Like others mentioned, I added several more carrots and tossed in some diced onions as well. I Put it all in the crockpot on high for 2 hours than low for 5 hours (The meat was so tender and juicy). I took out half the sauce and mixed in a little cornstarch/water to make a gravy for the garlic mashed potatoes. This dinner needed some green's so I steamed some fresh green beans and BAM dinner is served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaleni315

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Fabulous!!! My husband said it was the best meal he has had in a very long time. I added corn starch and the remaining gravy mix to make gravy thicker and served with mashed potatoes. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
This is my go to recipe for roast. It has a delicious flavour, and the family loves it! Really good gravy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
This is the best pot roast I've ever made. I added mushrooms, potatoes and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It was good. I seared the meat and put everything in the crockpot. We served with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
I made this in the crock pot - low for 6 hours and the meat was falling apart tender. I'm not too sure about the sweetness of the sauce though, I poured the drippings through a strainer into a pot to thicken and had to add salt and instead of pepper I tossed in some Montreal steak spice. I may make this again but if I do I may only add half the can of pop and toss in some beef broth instead to balance it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Loved it!! Big hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
This is a good recipe to convert to gluten free. omit the gravy mix. you can mix dry onion (or fresh) with beef broth and a tablespoon or two of cornstarch into Progresso's vegetable classic creamy mushroom (it's gluten free). Do you feel it needs salt added? You can drop in a beef bouillon, Herb Ox brand is gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe is DELICIOUS! I cooked it as is but added sliced mushrooms and served it with baked potatoes and my whole family was more than impressed! Definitely a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mhodge21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Bangor, Maine, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 727) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States