Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Great recipe. I omitted the celery and added cream of celery soup instead of mushroom. I also used a bag of baby carrots instead of using regular carrots. A plain old 3 lb. pot roast turned out juicy and tender. 4-5 servings for us with baby potatoes or noodles on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This recipe was AMAZING!! The only tweak I made to it was that I cooked it in an oven bag on 350 for 3 hours, the gravy was delicious on top of mashed potatoes, the flavoring of the coke was soooo subtle and made all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I cooked this for my family dinner and they devoured it!!! It was soo good, the meat was excellent and all of the flavors went together perfectly. Not one complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I wanted to try something different so thought I'd try this recipe, it turned out good. However, I think I will stick to my recipe, as the taste and fragrance of envelope gravy was prominent. I prefer the taste of the actual meat and juices meshed with the flavor from the surrounding vegetables/seasonings. Glad to try the recipe and don't get me wrong it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This is a great recipe for fall/winter. I threw everything into a crock pot and cooked it on low for 7.5 hours. I would suggest turning the meat over halfway through the cooking time so the top doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Made this recipe I made a few changes added a whole packge of brown gravy mix, whole package of dry onion mushroom mix , whole 26 oz can of cream of mushroom, seasoned my meat with salt and pepper rub , used 16 oz of zero calorie coke , added 10 to 12 small to medium size red potatoes, fresh green beans several hand fulls, box of baby bella mushrooms sliced and half a bag of baby cut carrots cooked at 350 for a hr covered then at 325 for a additional 4 hrs covered ....was so yummy my kids koved it .a must make dish !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
Just finished making it, haven't even eaten it yet, but I can already say that all I can taste is CELERY!! I am preparing to thicken my gravy and I tasted the broth. Needs LOTS of salt and tastes like nothing but celery. Hope the family will eat it. I followed the directions! If we make it through dinner and I even try to make it again, I will leave out the celery entirely! Post dinner, the meat itself did not taste as strongly of celery as the gravy, but the gravy did not shake the strong celery flavor. With all of the highly flavored ingredients, to have this taste like celery is a big disappointment. It was okay enough to try again, and the basic ingredients should have been awesome. Will try again with NO CELERY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
My husband and I loved this pot roast. Very easy to make. Make great hot roast been sandwiches the next day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
This was just okay, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Nutt Tanner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Falconer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Used a 3lb inside blade roast, reduced sodium gravy mix and followed the recipe exactly. Removed the grease from the gravy and added cornstarch to thicken (in a pot on the stove). Better than I expected and my son who doesn't like gravy had some and liked it! I want to try this again but with less cola as we found it a little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBMinx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 728) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States