Cola Pot Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Hubs enjoyed immensly. I don't usually like pot roast but this was tender and delicious. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Belcher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I don't like Pot Roast but I LOVED this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Ok, I made this last night but with several changes so here goes...and by the way it was deeelish! For the roast I used a California pot roast, about 3 pounds, as the lady in the meat dept where I shop suggested it for slow cooking. She was so right! I didn't have carrots on hand so I just eliminated and served with mixed veggies. I didn't use the celery either, just didn't want celery in it and I also did not use the gravy packet. The onion soup mix is very flavorful and the soup and soda mixed together with that did the trick! I used a full 12 oz can of coke and left the water out, didn't need it. I put 5 potatoes, skinned and cut up into 1 inch chunks on the bottom, roast on top of that and poured the soups, soda, mixture over the top. I also put the garlic directly on top of the roast so the flavor would seep in. This made an awesome gravy when the roast was done and the meat was sooo tender and soft. Had plenty of gravy, which did not need to be thickened at all. The starch from the potatoes works as a thickening agent so it worked out great!!! I slow cooked this for 4 hours on HIGH and it was PERFECT!!! Will def make this again and will use the carrots next time too! Just to give you an idea on how great this was..my family was actually looking for more meat when we were done!! They said they could have eaten this allll night! Hope this helps! Happy cooking :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My husband and daughter really liked this, but I just didn't care for the taste of Coke. I cooked in the crock pot for 10 hours and it was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shanghai, Shanghai (Municipality) , China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Unanimously got 5 stars at my house- even from the most picky of eaters. The only changes that I made was using rump roast (as it was on sale and how I ended up looking for a pot roast recipe in the first place) adding a can of beef gravy as I didn't have the powdered stuff. I also cooked in a slow-cooker, 3 hours on high then 6 hours on low- adding carrots for the last 3 hours of cooking. It was DEEEEE-LICIOUS!!! The meat pulled apart with a fork, the carrots were seasoned all the way the way through and the gravy had a fabulous flavor. We'll be watching the grocery store fliers for the next rump roast sale so we can have this fabulous meal again. Perfect for a cold New England night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
WOW! This roast is FANTASTIC!!! I seasoned the roast with pepper, meat tenderizer and tri-tip rub and seared on both sides. I didn't have any gravy mix, so I omitted that and the water and subbed with 1 c. beef stock. We are not fans of fungi around here so I used cream of celery soup instead. The only thing I will do differently next time is add more veggies and trim more fat as it has a lot of it pooling at the top and will be flavorful enough without the extra calories ;) Thanks for sharing!! YUMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar (:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Absolutely one of my favorites! Even my boyfriend who hates pot roast went back for seconds! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NITSCHKE1228

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was a big hit at my house. Made just as written and it was just plain yummy! The sauce was so tasty and different from plain boring pot roast. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Strange ingredients...but wow! It worked....it was SO good. The sauce went great on mashed potatoes too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
The night before, I seared the roast first with steak rub till it was golden. Then put in 6 carrots, 4 celery, 1 onion, and 2 potatoes in the crock pot, I placed the roast on top, and poured the sauce on. I ended up using 1/2 pkg of mushroom gravy, 'cuz I didn't have brown gravy, and a whole can of coke. Cooked it for 8 hours on low. It turned out very "beefy," and the meat was very tender. I added cornstarch to the gravy to thicken it, and it was perfect. Served it to 5 ppl, and it was just enough, maybe not enough? Good to the last piece. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States