Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Suprisingly I enjoyed this meal greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I did not follow the recipe to the letter. I had no stewed tomatoes. I used crushed tomatoes instead. I also used the substitute for dry spaghetti sauce(tomato paste/Italian seasoning/salt/pepper.) I also seared the meat for 4 minutes on each side as well. We also used the leftovers to make a shredded meat wrap the next day. Note: My wife got a bowl of the sauce and used it as a soup, it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is a great alternative to the "standard" pot roast. The cola & spaghetti sauce give it a zippy flavor, and the gravy it makes is excellent! The only modifications I make is that I add diced carrot to the onion, celery & tomatoes mixture, then after browning I cook it in a Crock Pot. Last, I stir in a little flour slurry to thicken the gravy and blend it with a stick blender so it is a smoother texture. This makes a lot of gravy, which is excellent over potatoes. I save the extra gravy and use it over meatloaf later in the week. Excellent pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
WOW!! I could not believe how good this was. We had a chuck roast and an abundance of tomatoes from the garden. My work-at-home husband pulled this together. He skipped browning the roast, omitted the vegetable oil and celery which I don't like. He followed everything else. He cooked it in the oven at 280 degrees for about 3 1/2 hours. We served it over rice. We will definitely make again. There is a lot of liquid with this. It would make a great stew for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yum! I would only sear for @3 minutes per side next time - 10 is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My family loved it! Even my son's friend, a picky eater, loved it! It was a nice change from my usual onion soup mix roast. I didn't have spaghetti sauce mix, so I substituted a can of italian diced tomatoes. I also added 1 can of beef broth and thickened the gravy with cornstarch. I will be making this roast often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is the best recipe ever. We love it. I just dump everything in the crock pot and cook on low for eight hours. The roast just falls apart. I gave this recipe and a crock pot to a friend for a bridal shower gift. Everyone who tries it, loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEST_MERMAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Yummy. Used my crockpot, thickened the juice slightly after cooking, then served with mashed potatoes, green beans, and italian dinner rolls. Everyone was a clean plater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very good recipe, nice flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 227) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States