Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is a great alternative to the "standard" pot roast. The cola & spaghetti sauce give it a zippy flavor, and the gravy it makes is excellent! The only modifications I make is that I add diced carrot to the onion, celery & tomatoes mixture, then after browning I cook it in a Crock Pot. Last, I stir in a little flour slurry to thicken the gravy and blend it with a stick blender so it is a smoother texture. This makes a lot of gravy, which is excellent over potatoes. I save the extra gravy and use it over meatloaf later in the week. Excellent pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
WOW!! I could not believe how good this was. We had a chuck roast and an abundance of tomatoes from the garden. My work-at-home husband pulled this together. He skipped browning the roast, omitted the vegetable oil and celery which I don't like. He followed everything else. He cooked it in the oven at 280 degrees for about 3 1/2 hours. We served it over rice. We will definitely make again. There is a lot of liquid with this. It would make a great stew for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Yum! I would only sear for @3 minutes per side next time - 10 is too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susabelle
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
My family loved it! Even my son's friend, a picky eater, loved it! It was a nice change from my usual onion soup mix roast. I didn't have spaghetti sauce mix, so I substituted a can of italian diced tomatoes. I also added 1 can of beef broth and thickened the gravy with cornstarch. I will be making this roast often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
This is the best recipe ever. We love it. I just dump everything in the crock pot and cook on low for eight hours. The roast just falls apart. I gave this recipe and a crock pot to a friend for a bridal shower gift. Everyone who tries it, loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLEST_MERMAID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Yummy. Used my crockpot, thickened the juice slightly after cooking, then served with mashed potatoes, green beans, and italian dinner rolls. Everyone was a clean plater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Very good recipe, nice flavor, and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
my picky husband loved it. i used garlic powder and omitted the salt and substituted dehydrated minced onion.. quick, easy & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LRitter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This was really good. All 4 kids and husband enjoyed it. Made mashed potatoes, green peas, and biscuits to go with it. Yum. I didn't think it would be as good as it was. I pretty much followed the recipe except for the celery, and doubled the amounts of everything to have enough for tomorrows dinner. The gravy was thick enough for us, and my daughter said it was good enough to drink!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States