Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Believe my minor changes/additions brought this recipe to a 5.5 - you must try it! Used the full 12oz bottle of Coke, replaced onion with red onion, used less salt (1/4 tsp), replaced garlic salt with 2 lg. garlic cloves, finely minced, used Italian stewed tomatoes, added 3 TB tomato paste to cut sweet of pkgd spaghetti sauce, 1/4 c. Swanson's beef broth, and one 1" x 1" bay leaf. Tied kitchen-twine around outside edge of a 3-lb. chuck roast before browning in a 5-qt. Dutch oven. Added all ingredients to the pot, brought to a boil then, covered and cooked in oven at 325 for 2-1/4 hrs (45 mins/lb). The gravy didn't require any thickening. Served with linguine and oven-roasted broccoli with sliced garlic and chili-oil. I very much like this pot roast and every dinner guest requested the recipe so, I send many thanks to the contributor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I liked it. This recipe adds a new twist to an old favorite because of the different ingredients that I’ve never used before in a pot roast. It’s hard to mess up this type of pot roast so long as you simmer the meat, covered and on a low setting, in a little liquid for 2-1/2 to 3 hours. I prefer going 3 hours. At times, I just use water, salt & pepper, and one onion cut into several pieces and it turns out very good. Add some fresh baby carrots, canned green beans, and some cut up potatoes during the last 45 to 60 minutes of cooking and you have yourself a nice vegetable beef stew after you cut up the meat and return it to the pot. When done, I usually add salt and pepper again to taste. Fresh green beans are even better but I allow for at least a good 2 hours of cooking time for them. Sometimes I do start off by browning the meat in oil. Other times, when I’m short on time and don’t feel like dealing with the mess and splatter, I skip the browning and just go straight to simmering. I think it turns out good either way though I’m sure some would disagree with skipping this step. Though it takes several hours to cook, pot roast makes a wonderful meal and is fairly easy to make with plenty of room for experimentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Easy to make and very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duncanville, Texas, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
My first successful roast. Good flavor and very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was great. I had to make my own spaghetti sauce seasoning since I couldnt find any at the market. This was great served oved egg noodles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This wasnt for me. I was hoping for one of the flavors to come threw. I liked this better with spagetti and parm cheese than on top of mashed potatoes, had it both ways. It wasnt bad but I could think of better ways to use up my chuck roast. Try it you might like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Suprisingly I enjoyed this meal greatly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I did not follow the recipe to the letter. I had no stewed tomatoes. I used crushed tomatoes instead. I also used the substitute for dry spaghetti sauce(tomato paste/Italian seasoning/salt/pepper.) I also seared the meat for 4 minutes on each side as well. We also used the leftovers to make a shredded meat wrap the next day. Note: My wife got a bowl of the sauce and used it as a soup, it was that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
This is a great alternative to the "standard" pot roast. The cola & spaghetti sauce give it a zippy flavor, and the gravy it makes is excellent! The only modifications I make is that I add diced carrot to the onion, celery & tomatoes mixture, then after browning I cook it in a Crock Pot. Last, I stir in a little flour slurry to thicken the gravy and blend it with a stick blender so it is a smoother texture. This makes a lot of gravy, which is excellent over potatoes. I save the extra gravy and use it over meatloaf later in the week. Excellent pot roast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
WOW!! I could not believe how good this was. We had a chuck roast and an abundance of tomatoes from the garden. My work-at-home husband pulled this together. He skipped browning the roast, omitted the vegetable oil and celery which I don't like. He followed everything else. He cooked it in the oven at 280 degrees for about 3 1/2 hours. We served it over rice. We will definitely make again. There is a lot of liquid with this. It would make a great stew for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States