Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
didn't go over as good as I had hoped
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Let me preface this by saying that I am NOT a fan of pot roast - at all! Hubby is tho, so I gave this a try and was blown away by how good it was!! I didn't make any changes except I did add about a TBL of W.shire sauce (probably didn't make a difference). I did brown the roast and then put it in the slow cooker and poured the sauce over it. Set it on low and let it go for 8 hrs. It did worry me when DH came home and said "mmm smells like spaghetti" but it definitely did not taste like it. It came out perfect! The sauce was not too sweet at all and had a nice tang to it - almost sweet/sour but not quite. Dh made an open face sandwich the next day for lunch and loved it. This will definitely be made and shared again! UPDATED: I have made this several times now and have landed on my fav. modifications. 1)Heat 2 TBL oil in dutch oven and while it's heating, add 3 or 4 whole, peeled cloves of garlic. Remove when they start to brown This replaces the garlic salt. 2)Salt, pepper and flour the roast before browning. Remove meat and place in crockpot. I omitted the rest of the salt. 3) De-glaze dutch oven with about 1/3 cup good red wine making sure to scrap up the bits on the bottom. Pour over the meat. 4) In the same dutch oven, mix your tomatoes, spag. sauce seasoning, cola and veggies. Pour over meat and set crockpot on low for about 7 hours or high for about 5. 5) During last hour, add baby carrots and new potatoes if desired. This is now a fav of our family!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ralloyd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Kill Devil Hills, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made this with venison steaks and it was fantastic! The sauce made the venison really tender and minimized the gamey taste. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I will try to give as good of a review as I can.. considering my husband only heard me talking about this recipe and decided he would make it. hee hee He used a jar of spagetti sauce, a can of diet coke, dehydrated onion, garlic powder, carrots and potatoes in the bottom of the crock pot, roast on top the other ingredients on top of that, he then cooked it on high for 6 hours. Considering he didn't even know what the exact recipe was, it was pretty tasty and definitely tender and juicy. (next time I will make it myself the correct way) lol lol Definitely a keeper, he used a chuck roast. I had to smile... he was trying to please me? If he had only listened when I was reading the recipe to him last night? hahahaha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Made this in the crockpot and the only adjustment that I made was to use minced garlic instead of garlic salt and I omitted the salt and seasoned to taste before serving. The next time I make this I will add another can of stewed tomatoes minus the juice and will serve it over polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
All I can say is yum, yum, I followed recipe but did the crock pot thing. Oh my how good it is. The family loved it over mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Put all the ingredients in a slow cooker for 8 hours...yum! Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Easy & delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruce, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Fantastic recipe. Only change I made was to remove the roast after browning, then in the same pot, sautéing the celery, onions and garlic before adding other ingredients. Then put the roast back in and cooked it following the written directions. It tasted too sweet after adding all the ingredients so I didn't think I would like it, but after cooking it was a great flavor. Everyone loved it. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States