Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Too sweet for my taste. Not sure what I was expecting from the ingredients, but it wasn't this sweet gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is a wonderfully flavorful and easy pot roast. Great for a busy work day where you can mix it up and put it in the crock pot. When I make it on weekdays, I skip the browning, put the meat in the crock pot, pour the remaining ingredients on top, then cook on low 6-8 hours while I'm at work. When I read the ingredients, I wondered about the tomatoes and spaghetti sauce mix, but it all makes for a great flavor. Not too overpowering. Makes a wonderful gravy and I also used the sauce as a base for beef soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a huge hit in my house. I do it in slow cooker on low for 6-8 hours. I leave out the celery and use the roast for tacos the next night. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Great taste! I used diced petite tomatoes and Dr. Pepper. I also put in a whole onion. The flavor was wonderful and there was a lot of juice left over. Will definitely fix again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Just ok. Made as written except in the crockpot. No one in the family thrilled...all prefer a richer, browner gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I was hesitant to try this recipe as I didn't want to ruin a good roast. But I was tired of my usual pot roast recipe so I gave this a try. I thought this turned out really good and my boyfriend thought so also. I did tweak the ingredients a bit. I did not use a full can of Pepsi only because I was nervous it would be too sweet. I also used 4 Tablespoons of tomato paste and 1 teaspoon of Italian seasoning instead of dry spaghetti mix. I had a 2 lb. roast and this was plenty to cover the roast in the crock pot. Overall I was very happy with it and would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA
Living In: Centerburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The sauce was really quite sweet and the meat actually turned out a bit dry which I have never has a problem with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Very easy and very good. I only browned the roast 5 minutes on each side. I used italian seasoned stewed tomatoes. I used diet pepsi so added a tiny bit of honey. Used only 1 tsp of salt and 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. After the roast was done I added some instant potato flakes to the gravy to thicken it a little. I cooked on the stove top as the recipe states. My husband went on and on about how good this was....especially the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Best roast beef I've ever made. The wife even admits that it's better then her moms!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
WAY too sweet! Tasted like meat flavored with Coke, which may be good for some, but not us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States