Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I used the exact recipe (sans browning) in my slow cooker on high for 6 hours, and served it with rosemary gravy made from some of the savory juices it produced, along with roasted/sliced/herbed potatoes... my husband of 5 years nearly proposed again. Next time I plan to substitute the spaghetti packet with herbs I already have, and use fresh tomatoes and tomato paste, and add sliced carrots. After the majority of the roast is gone, the vegetable beef soup left behind on day 3 will be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Noumi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I don't know what is wrong with this recipe---I followed the instructions exactly except used crushed garlic instead of garlic salt. Not only was the meat tough, but the broth had a funny aftertaste. I'm trying to salvage the roast---rinsed it off, dumped the juices and will use just beef broth for the base and season to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Carroll
Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Maybe I'd try a natural soda like "Blue Sky" instead. I wouldn't want to even make this if I knew coke was in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This pot roast was AMAZING!!!! My family gave it a 10!!! I can't wait to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this almost exactly as written, other than using fresh tomatoes (that were almost ready for me to trash, due to being too ripe). Everything else was as written. I made it in my cast iron Dutch Oven on the stovetop. Filled the house with wonderful smells & served with homemade mashed potatoes. It was juicy, yummy & tender. I don't know how some of the other reviewers are complaining that it was too sweet. I used 1/2 can of regular Pepsi and it was fine. No where near sweet. I am guessing that some people might be using diet soda. Next time I think I'm going to try it with regular Root Beer. Thanks for a nice, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Too sweet for my taste. Not sure what I was expecting from the ingredients, but it wasn't this sweet gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This is a wonderfully flavorful and easy pot roast. Great for a busy work day where you can mix it up and put it in the crock pot. When I make it on weekdays, I skip the browning, put the meat in the crock pot, pour the remaining ingredients on top, then cook on low 6-8 hours while I'm at work. When I read the ingredients, I wondered about the tomatoes and spaghetti sauce mix, but it all makes for a great flavor. Not too overpowering. Makes a wonderful gravy and I also used the sauce as a base for beef soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is a huge hit in my house. I do it in slow cooker on low for 6-8 hours. I leave out the celery and use the roast for tacos the next night. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
Great taste! I used diced petite tomatoes and Dr. Pepper. I also put in a whole onion. The flavor was wonderful and there was a lot of juice left over. Will definitely fix again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Just ok. Made as written except in the crockpot. No one in the family thrilled...all prefer a richer, browner gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 228) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States