Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Everyone in the family (kids ages 14, 15 & 17) all loved this! Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written and used a Dutch oven on the stove top. The sauce was fabulous! The meat, however, was not very tender and was not to a level of rare (checked with a meat thermometer) in the 2 hours and 30 minutes. I had to continue cooking for an additional hour. My family very much enjoyed the flavor of the sauce, though. Will try again with adjustments to the length of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandmia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
did not like this at all..tasted like stew..gravy not liked by my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
I made as written but cooked in the crock pot. I found it rather bland, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I used the exact recipe (sans browning) in my slow cooker on high for 6 hours, and served it with rosemary gravy made from some of the savory juices it produced, along with roasted/sliced/herbed potatoes... my husband of 5 years nearly proposed again. Next time I plan to substitute the spaghetti packet with herbs I already have, and use fresh tomatoes and tomato paste, and add sliced carrots. After the majority of the roast is gone, the vegetable beef soup left behind on day 3 will be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I don't know what is wrong with this recipe---I followed the instructions exactly except used crushed garlic instead of garlic salt. Not only was the meat tough, but the broth had a funny aftertaste. I'm trying to salvage the roast---rinsed it off, dumped the juices and will use just beef broth for the base and season to my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Vandalia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Maybe I'd try a natural soda like "Blue Sky" instead. I wouldn't want to even make this if I knew coke was in it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This tasted like mess hall chow I had in the Army. Sorry, not my taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msouleusa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Parksville, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
This pot roast was AMAZING!!!! My family gave it a 10!!! I can't wait to make it again!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I made this almost exactly as written, other than using fresh tomatoes (that were almost ready for me to trash, due to being too ripe). Everything else was as written. I made it in my cast iron Dutch Oven on the stovetop. Filled the house with wonderful smells & served with homemade mashed potatoes. It was juicy, yummy & tender. I don't know how some of the other reviewers are complaining that it was too sweet. I used 1/2 can of regular Pepsi and it was fine. No where near sweet. I am guessing that some people might be using diet soda. Next time I think I'm going to try it with regular Root Beer. Thanks for a nice, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States