Cola Pot Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I loved this, and now make it regularly. My husband, who is very picky and doesn't get enthusiastic about things I cook loved this. He couldn't wait to take the leftovers for lunch the next day. It's a great alternative to the pot roasts with mushroom soup. I did make it in the oven on low heat and not on the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
I served this with pasta and it was a big hit. It was simple to prepare and a different way to make a boring chuck roast. Because I was worried about the package of spaghetti sauce mix being salty and didn't add any of the additional salt the recipe called for. I like the idea of changing it to a Mexican flavor dish and will try that next time. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I made this recipe the other day on a whim. Did not have time to make it in a slow cooker, but made it on the stove in 3 hours it was the best, and I repeat, the best pot roast I have ever had and my family raved about it and I have passed the recipe on to about 6 other people. It is so amazingly spectacular so much so I would serve it for a special dinner for guests. The only other thing I added was cut up carrots ( big chunks) oh my were they ever flavorful. this one is a winner!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
All I can say is wow!! I can't imagine making pot roast any other way after this. The sauce is incredible - we all wanted to eat it like soup. I made just a few minor changes. I added 2 cloves of chopped garlic, 1 small can of tomato paste and about 1/2 C of beef broth to the stewed tomato mix. When done I thickened with a bit of corn starch and water - didn't take much because it was already a nice consistancy. I served this with mashed red potatoes, crusty toasted french bread and a nice green salad. Everyone had smiles of contentment on their faces after this comfort meal. Oh and I did use diet coke - just amazing - I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
We really enjoyed this recipe. My husband noticed all that I was adding and he was doubtful. But sometimes the oddest of combination's create something delicious and in this case also very tender and moist. This recipe will be good for camping trips as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I used 4 cloves of fresh minced garlic, 1 cup of coke, 1/2c red wine, 2-14.5 oz cans of stewed tomatoes and 1-6oz can of tomato paste with 4 lbs of beef roast and it was not sweet at all. I even had to put in 2 tbsp of brown sugar to round off the taste. Browned the meat first, then cut it in 1.5" x 1.5" chunks. Simmered in stockpot on stove for 3.5-4 hrs and it was so tender. Also added in 1 lb of baby carrots, 3 celery stalks, and 2 large potatoes. My husband could not believe I made it with coke. I liked this recipe more as opposed to the other coke roast recipe since it's tomato instead of creamed soup based. Thanks for the recipe. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This recipe makes a fantastic pot roast! I took a chance as I don't cook with tomatoes much and was skeptical of the packaged seasonings. I put all the ingredients (except celery-I don't like it) in the slow cooker and let it cook for 10 hours on low. It was done at 8 hours but we like pot roast really tender. The leftovers were even better than the original. I am making this now for tomorrows dinner giving the flavors time to age. Makes really yummy sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
I liked it a lot. Followed it exactly, but with Diet Coke. I was the only one in my house even willing to try it (not a bunch of meat eaters here) but I had leftovers all week. I sliced it thin, heated it up and put it over salad the next day! (sounds wierd but I'm on South Beach) It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Majewski Mazzuca
Home Town: Brick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I changed this recipe quite a bit. I didn't make it in the oven, I wanted to make this a crockpot meal so I wouldn't have to "babysit." I first layered a chopped onion on the bottom of the crock, then the roast. I sauteed sliced fresh mushrooms and a couple chopped cloves of garlic in EVOO, then added it to the crock before pouring in the soda mixture. To the soda mixture, I added worchestershire sauce to the soda mixture, along with pepper to taste. The end result was almost like a burgundy roast/sauce. (I plan on adding 1/2 c. of red wine to the sauce the next time I make it, to boost the flavor another notch.) To thicken the sauce, I added two tablespoons of cornstarch to 1/4. cup of soda, then poured it into the crock. I paired it with this potato recipe, which I did half red potato and half cauliflower: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Suzys-Mashed-Red-Potatoes/Detail.aspx VERY tasty. The whole family gobbled it up and asked for seconds, even the kids. Both my husband and I were surprized at the end result, which is not what we imagined the roast would taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
This was pretty good. Not memorable, but edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Bovenkamp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States