Cola Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I thought this is just too easy to be good, but I tried it any way. I did make a little change in the recipe though after reading some of the reviews. I mixed the cola, onion soup mix in a bowl; add some garlic powder, cracked black pepper with a couple dashes of jalapeno sauce. The chops came out nice, tender and juicy. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the “gravy” is not gravy it is juice. I will make again, but with a thicken agent in mind to make real gravy. Easy and my wife and two very picky teenagers liked it so it was a hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Postvak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Colorado, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I really liked these! I topped them with caramelized onions (caramelized onion on the grill recipe) which contrasted the sweetness with a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I was a bit apprehensive about making these pork chops, but wanted to make something different that was quick and easy. I waited until my husband went out to run an errand before I started preparing this dish, thinking if he saw what the ingredients were, he would never eat them! Boy, were we both surprised!! These were the most tender, moist and flavorful pork chops we had ever eaten! I now make these at least twice a week. My loal grocery store had inexpensive pork steaks that had been pre-seasoned with alot of paprika and black pepper, so I bought them instead of the chops. I mixed the onion soup mix with a cheap, off brand cola (not diet),and poured some of that mixture in the bottom of the 9 x 13 pan sprinkled the chops with garlic powder and put them in the pan, and then added the remaining soup/cola mixture. I then topped with extra onion, sliced very thin. I covered with foil and baked in a 300 degreee oven for about 1 hour and 30 minutes. Perfection!! Excellent, simple recipe. I think next time, I will add fresh, thinly sliced mushrooms - Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: West Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
This was OK but not great. Pork was a bit dry. The sauce was good - kind of like french onion soup. It was really really simple to make - would make again, but not on my list of "regulars"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MK!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edison, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I made this the other night for my boyfriend, as usual. I don't eat pork but he was really impressed and couldn't figure out exactly what the 'sauce' was. He said it was awesome. Very little effort. It's going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shells

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wickford, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: South Kingstown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I was really excited for this recipe because I love simple things like this that can be made from things I always have in the house. However, it was pretty unappealing when it came out of the oven, and it just didn't smell appetizing. The pork was very moist, but the sauce wasn't thick at all. I always make 3 small pork chops for my husband and I for dinner and I knew this wasn't very good when my hubby didn't go back for his second pork chop and asked for more salad ;) I wouldn't say that this was bad, but I won't be making it again. There is a similar pork chop recipe on allrecipes.com made with cola, brown sugar, and ketchup that is outstanding that I will be sticking with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These were OK. A bit on the dry side. I have other pork chop recipes I like better. However, if you are making this recipe, I recommend 20 min on a side ont 30 per side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlwaysCookin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
Got home late and didn't want to mess with flouring and doing the browning from other recipes so did this one with the garlic salt and pepper. I even forgot when I put them in the oven cuz I was on the phone, but checked them turned 'em over and at bout one hour total took em out. Even tho it was almost time for bed I kept snacking on these tender morsels, can't wait for lunch tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
This is the best, simplest, easy clean up pork chop recipe I've found. Easy to clean up because there are none left to refrigerate! You'll be surprised at the tenderness, juiciness, and not near as sweet with the cola as you might expect. Just a mild sweet flavor that everyone loved so much that they all went back for seconds. My daughter doesn't normally MMMmmmmmmm... out loud at the table (she's 23) but this was so good, she didn't even realize she was doing it! I served this with roasted seasoned potatoes (cooked in oven with pork chops) and green beans! Big time saver! Thanks for adding this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't great. My husband didn't like it. I thought it was pretty good. The only change I made is I cooked them 20 minutes each side instead of 30. Might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States