Cola Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Raquel Teixeira
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This does make a really tender pork chop, but I have to agree with others that this pork needs some marinating and much more seasoning. Next time I will marinate in a dry rub and browning is also a good idea. It is also important to use thick chops as I lessened my cooking time because I had smaller chops and they still dried out a bit - however, I recommend to everyone to cover your chops for the first 1/2 of the cooking and that saved my chops from completely drying out. All in all a good idea of simple ingredients but needs a bit more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raquel Teixeira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
My 5yo thought they were really good, and so did my picky husband. They were easy,I did bake at 300(seasoned my chops with garlic powder and pepper)and they smelled great while cooking. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Wow the flavor was totally unexpected. Not amazing, but I might make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Very juicy! I seasoned the pork wit garlic salt and pepper before soaking it wit the cola and onion mix , but thought it coulda been more flavor full. Next time maybe i will try to put somre galic cloves in aswell . Otherwise it was great !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Quick, easy, delicious! It's fork tender and has a tingling texture that melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
very easy to make - the most moist porkchops I've ever had even the leftovers the next day were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
MY HUSBAND AND I TRIED THIS RECEIPE AND IT WAS GOOD AND JUICY. WE DID NOT MAKE ANY ADJUSTMENT IT WAS JUST GREAT THE WAY THE RECEIPE IS. IT SIMPLE QUICK AND TASTEFUL. THE PORK CHOP TASTE LIKE GLAZED HAM WHICH ONLY TAKE ABOUT 30 MINUTES. THIS IS A 30 MINUTES MEAL. WHILE THE CHOPS WAS BAKING I WAS PREPARING THE OTHER SIDE DISHES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
I thought this is just too easy to be good, but I tried it any way. I did make a little change in the recipe though after reading some of the reviews. I mixed the cola, onion soup mix in a bowl; add some garlic powder, cracked black pepper with a couple dashes of jalapeno sauce. The chops came out nice, tender and juicy. I agree with some of the other reviewers that the “gravy” is not gravy it is juice. I will make again, but with a thicken agent in mind to make real gravy. Easy and my wife and two very picky teenagers liked it so it was a hit! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Postvak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Colorado, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I really liked these! I topped them with caramelized onions (caramelized onion on the grill recipe) which contrasted the sweetness with a bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I was a bit apprehensive about making these pork chops, but wanted to make something different that was quick and easy. I waited until my husband went out to run an errand before I started preparing this dish, thinking if he saw what the ingredients were, he would never eat them! Boy, were we both surprised!! These were the most tender, moist and flavorful pork chops we had ever eaten! I now make these at least twice a week. My loal grocery store had inexpensive pork steaks that had been pre-seasoned with alot of paprika and black pepper, so I bought them instead of the chops. I mixed the onion soup mix with a cheap, off brand cola (not diet),and poured some of that mixture in the bottom of the 9 x 13 pan sprinkled the chops with garlic powder and put them in the pan, and then added the remaining soup/cola mixture. I then topped with extra onion, sliced very thin. I covered with foil and baked in a 300 degreee oven for about 1 hour and 30 minutes. Perfection!! Excellent, simple recipe. I think next time, I will add fresh, thinly sliced mushrooms - Yum!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dickinson, Texas, USA
Living In: West Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States