Cola Onion Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Following the suggestion of one reviewer, I made this recipe in a crockpot. I didn't have plain cola but rather used a diet cherry cola. My 3 center cut boneless chops were rather small and I didn't want the onion to be overwhelming so didn't use an entire package of onion soup. Instead I sprinkled about 3 heaping tablespoons on the chops, added cola to submerge but not cover chops and added 3-4 small sprigs of fresh rosemary. I cooked for a total of maybe 3 hours, half on high, half on low. Just before serving I thickened the "gravy" with a little cornstarch/water -- not to a thick gravy but just enough for added body. Chops turned out very moist and tender, gravy was perfect! This recipe will be fun to play with using other meats and carbonated beverages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
These were good, but not amazing or anything you would whip out for company. You don't taste the Cola at all. I seasoned with garlic powder and pepper. But I think the onion soup mix is too overpowering with this recipe. Next time I will use half an envelope of dry onion soup mix and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
doubled because I was making for 6, however too much liquid, never got thick and syrupy. Will make again family loved taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is so easy and soooo good. You don't need to do anything to it, the flavors are there with the cola and onion soup mix. Will use this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
The first time I tried this recipe, I cooked the chops in the oven as the recipe said to. The chops turned out drier than I liked. The second time I tried cooking in my crockpot. Much, much better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Instant classic! Super easy and super tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
For a basic, fast and easy recipe this is awesome. We love spice in our house so I added some crushed red pepper flakes and they were great! I did not have "COLA" on hand and know that any soda works for tenderizing meat. I used ORANGE SODA!!!! Still came out great! Good luck and thank you katherinemichele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
It was okay. I thought it tasted much too much like the onion soup mix. But I should have figured. Not bad, not great either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This is the second time I've tried a cola pork chop recipe, and this is the second time I just was not impressed. I've made some pretty awesome recipes that call for the dry onion soup mix, but for some reason this did not rock my boat. I think it might be more my taste than anything wrong with the recipe. It was really simple, I've got to admit. I served it with rice and broccoli. The flavor wasn't horrible, and the dish was certainly edible. It just didn't pizazz my palate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skitzoid Lady

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I don't know if it was the brand of onion soup mix I used or what, but this wasn't as great as I thought it'd be. It was the first thing I made that my guy didn't ask for seconds on... Maybe would try again with a different soup mix brand... We'll see...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alchemist25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States