Cola Easter Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I made this Ham for Easter. I used the slow cooker instead of the oven. The type of ham was a fully cooked Spiral Ham and cooked 4 to 5 hours on low. This ham was moist and a wonderful flavor. My husband loves eating the left overs from the fridge. I will make this receipt again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Prague, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
To heyjude615, I bought a bottle of Welch's grape juice and used a cup of that. Made this for Easter dinner and it was delicious. Best ham I've had in a long time. Before making it I though maybe the brown sugar, cola, pineapple juice, and grape juice would end up making the ham too sweet. I couldn't have been more wrong. The sweetness complimented the saltiness of the ham perfectly. I'll definitely be making this again in the future. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
My dh's grandmother made her ham very similiar and since I couldn't find her recipe I used this one. It came out just as good, dare I say maybe better?! So moist, flavorful...my picky kids loved it. Even my sil who doesn't like ham loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
The only ingredients I had on hand were cola, brown sugar and pineapple. So here is my version. Marinate ham(8lbs) in cola overnite in oven bag but do not poke holes in bag until ready to bake. Turn bag a few times throughout the process to insure "even-ness". Drain cola and add pineapple with juice and rub ham with brown sugar. I only added 1/2 the sugar. The cola is used to tenderize the ham and Boy did it!!!Delicious!!! This was the best Easter ham ever....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Just had this tonight for your dinner club. Got rave reviews. I used the slow cooker method, cooked a 6.5 lb precooked boneless ham for 4.5 hrs. I skipped the pineapple. I thickened the sauce with a cornstarch slurry and it gave the sauce a little more body. I was very happy with the result. My guests could not believe the sauce was Coke and grape juice. After I put the brown sugar on the ham I wrapped it in plastic wrap and put it in the refrigerator for about an hour. It seem to make the sugar "stay on the ham" longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe is great. I served for Christmas this past year and everyone loved it. A week later my sister-in-law asked for the recipe. She couldn't stop thinking about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaMami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
We used a pit ham as well as a butt ham with this recipe. I have to say the pit ham was very decadent and delicious! The butt ham was ok but that was not because of this topping, it was because a butt ham is definitely not as good as a pit ham! Made this for Christmas and EVERYONE loved it and said it was the best ham they had ever had. If you concentrate on the flavors you will probably taste the grape juice but if you taste it without that in mind, the flavors meld very well and make this ham well worth the effort. I made this in my Nesco at the same temp as the recipe states for the oven. It was done in about an hour, maybe an hour and a half. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
My first time baking a ham for a tough crowd. It was a hit! before cooking, I scored the ham and added cloves. I used pomegranate instead of grape juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This ham got rave reviews from everyone! Made this for our Easter dinner. I didn't baste it every 20 minutes as we were at church most of the time it was cooking, and it still came out fantastic! Will for sure make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
We thought this was ok. I felt like I could taste the odd flavors of the grape juice and coke. It really didn't do anything in terms of tenderizing my Cumberland Gap boneless ham, in fact the skin became a tough chewy rind. Would bake another boneless hame but not necessarily this combo. I did like the idea of serving a sauce alongside ham though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States