Cola Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
My husband and kids really like this dish. I do make it a little different and that's browning the chops in the hot skillet first, then sauteeing a little chopped onion and minced garlic in a little butter until it "softens", then adding in the cola, ketchup and brown sugar and letting that all cook together. My boys like this either with hot buttered rice or mashed potatoes. For them, this is pure comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Made this last night according to directions, added onion powder and garlic. It was just okay. Was very heavy on the 'ketchup taste'. I probably wont make again. I have a recipe for cola pork roast that uses cola, cream of mushroom and onion soup mix and it's way better than this. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
my family loves this. we use mt. dew for the soda and it is so jucie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akwhite

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
This was a very good starting recipe! Didn't make many changes just added some more seasonings and seared the pork chops first! Was very delicious over rice!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Very Good! Sprinkled chops with McCormic Smokehouse Pepper,a little salt, patted it in well, and (make sure chops are DRY) dusted with Wondra flour,browned in (happened to have bacon drippings) and a little olive oil. Turned out great! I used thick cut chops and baked , at 325 (convection oven) for 1 1/2 hr in a glass baking dish. My husband and 2 yr old daughter loved it! Easy and good! Chops were very thick and they came out almost falling apart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I did not like this? I have had Ham cook with cola and brown sugar but this just did not turn out good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2011
My husband and I were less than impressed. I followed the recipe accordingly but thought that the sauce was too bland/too ketchupy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
To thicken the sauce.... lightly flour the chops before you put them in the pan. Put a bit of sauce in the bottom of the pan, then chops, then sauce. I have made this for up to 50 people and I can even layer everything. It comes out great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANEYLORENE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Bergamo, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
5 stars because my teen hates porkchops, but his first word after taking a bite was "Mmmm this is good!" Ive tried many different methods,this one is his winner! We all loved how the chops were soft & moist too I just wish Iknew how to thicken the sauce, it was all runny like water underneath!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very delicious....my two small children devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Cola Easter Ham

Cola does flavor-building wonders for baked Easter ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States