Cola Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
This is a great recipe but it is bland if you don't add to it (i.e. onions, garlic pwdr...etc.). You first should cook on high heat until it boils then reduce to med-high. Cover it in the beginning and then uncover for the last bit of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this tasted. I just didn't feel like cooking and thought that if it didn't taste good, it was not a long list of expensive ingredients. Scaled to 3 servings. Added tsp. each garlic and onion powder. Only had diet coke with lime but thought that would work well. While it was cooking, it didn't smell all that great. What a surprise when I lifted the lid and tasted the sauce and couldn't believe the depth of flavor! I have quite a descriminating palate and couldn't believe how good this was for being a simpleton recipe! Served with some basmati rice and fresh steamed broccoli and it was a great meal. The chicken itself was nice and tender. Used 3 deskinned bone-in breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Sorry,not for me. Chicken was dry and sauce was nothing to write home about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This is a recipe that is a favorite of ours. I have made this several times and it is very good. Chicken comes out moist and tastes a lot like barbeque chicken. I used the boneless, skinless chicken breasts and use diet cola. I usually shred the leftovers and make a sandwich for lunch. Very tasty, you've got to try it. And, it doesn't get any easier than this!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
At first, I didn't really get this recipe. I tried it though, and the sauce didn't thicken and become a gooey delicious mess, however, I think I was simmering it at too low a temperature. I think higher simmer, to allow for a full boil. However, I tried the leftovers the next day, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarKerRaven

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
wicked good! did add some stuff, though. i browned the chicken first and also added veggies: onion, garlic, carrots, celery and red peppers (was trying to use them up). SO GOOD! was iffy on letting it boil for so long...but you def have to do it to get it to thicken up. would be great to serve up to a house full of peeps :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binkyj826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waltham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
This is a super easy, quick meal, esp when you don't feel like cooking!! I made a few moderations: I used 1 1/2 cans Diet Pepsi, and 1 1/2 c. ketchup. I also browned some chopped onion & garlic before adding the chicken/sauce. Also added a few dashes of Worcestershire sauce to it. Great flavor! Chicken was super moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Hopkins

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sturgis, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Delicious! This will definitely become a regular in our family. I love the fact that the ingredients are things that are generally in the pantry. I used boneless chicken breast, took them out of the pot after 30 minutes and shredded them, returned them to the pot during the last 30 minutes of cooking. Came out perfectly, made a wonder pulled chicken sandwich. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This recipe IS surprisingly tasty!! My sister used to do Weight Watchers and this was a recipe that she brought home. Just use Diet Coke instead of regular Coke. I still use it to this day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
The combination of cola + ketchup can be used with all sorts of meats not just chicken! I have to recommend to you all try using DR PEPPER when using beef!!!!! I haven't tried using Dr. P on chicken but I'm going to very soon and I'll let you guys know. One of the real advantages of using coke/Dr P/whatever is that the acidity in soda helps break down tough pieces of meat so you can save money by buying tougher cuts which are cheaper and generally sold in higher weight (more meat for your fam or more leftovers). Throwing this into a slow cooker in the morning takes seconds, turn it on low and thats that. Depending on how long your gone during the day might vary how thick your sauce is, if you find its too thin remove the cover and turn it up on high. I also recommend that if you use breasts with the skin on, you might find that broiling them in the oven until they are crispy is good, however I don't use the skin so I can't tell you how long to keep it in for, just watch em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States