Cola Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
great recipe... super easy to make. I did add lots of garlic and onions too and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
This was good but it was missing something-maybe I'll try the onions and garlic another rater added. It also had an unappealing smell as others have said, so I'll use the other suggestion of cooking it in the crockpot outside. The liquid did not reduce to a sauce when it should have, so I increased the temperature and cooked it for another 30 minutes to get the desired thickness. A good (and EASY) starter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
This recipe was really great. My husband was very impressed. Thankyou very much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
This recipe was OK. The flavor was good, but not fantastic. I never got the sauce to be thick and sticky like the recipe called for (I cooked for 3 hours trying to get it that way and it did not work), but the flavor came through just fine and the chicken was moist. Others in my family raved about the recipe, though. Give it a try. You may like it. (Oh, and I used regular Pepsi when I made it.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glen Burnie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2006
I made this recipe in Sri Lanka when I had limited ingredients at hand, and it turned out great. I cut the recipe in thirds and ended up only cooking for about an hour (maybe the heat was too high?). In any case, it was great home cooking, will do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Tasted great! I had two huge split chicken breasts, so I halved the recipe. I used two Diet Coke cans and one Diet Coke with Lime to add some flavoring, along with one cup of ketchup. It would have tasted better if that phone call hadn't occured and it burned a bit after an hour and a half. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CASSEROLECOOK

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
I was pleasantly surprised at how good this tasted. I just didn't feel like cooking and thought that if it didn't taste good, it was not a long list of expensive ingredients. Scaled to 3 servings. Added tsp. each garlic and onion powder. Only had diet coke with lime but thought that would work well. While it was cooking, it didn't smell all that great. What a surprise when I lifted the lid and tasted the sauce and couldn't believe the depth of flavor! I have quite a descriminating palate and couldn't believe how good this was for being a simpleton recipe! Served with some basmati rice and fresh steamed broccoli and it was a great meal. The chicken itself was nice and tender. Used 3 deskinned bone-in breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
I used boneless chicken, added tons of onions and some garlic. By mistake I used the Vanilla Black Cherry coke....it was so good! I did think the sauce was a bit thin, so I did thicken it with some cornstarch. Without a doubt I will make this again, I will make making the sauce for some cocktail meatballs also!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Delicious! This will definitely become a regular in our family. I love the fact that the ingredients are things that are generally in the pantry. I used boneless chicken breast, took them out of the pot after 30 minutes and shredded them, returned them to the pot during the last 30 minutes of cooking. Came out perfectly, made a wonder pulled chicken sandwich. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2005
I use this recipe a lot, its very easy to do and everyone always loves it as it sounds intriuging! I used boneless, skinless breast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Braised Chicken and Artichokes

See how to make an easy and flavorful braised chicken dish.

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States