Cola Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was moist and yummy but extremely crumbly. I had a hard time getting it out of my 9x13 in pieces (bars). I used a box of Devil's Food Cake and a can of Dr Pepper; I also added two egg whites as per other reviews and I'm wondering if a full egg would have helped hold everything together. I'd definitely make this again with different cake/soda combinations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I used a devil's food cake mix and dr. pepper. Baked in a bundt pan. When cooled I poked holes with a fork, heated some raspberry Polander All Fruit and drizzled over the entire cake. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Very easy to make! The cake turned out moist and fudgy, almost a little too sweet for my tastes, but the guests loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aforementionedthoughts

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This seemed so weird I had to try it. I admit I used one egg white based on other reviews and I didn't think mine turned out flat at all. I used devil's food cake and a regular can of coke. I added some chocolate chips because I didn't want to use frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I used a white cake mix and a can of diet Sprite. I did add one egg white just incase and it turned out perfectly! It was a huge hit at the party last night and no one could tell anything was different. It saved about 50 calories per cupcake which is well worth it to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I used chocolate cake with Diet Dr. Pepper and made into cupcakes. I have seen similar recipes that call for the addition of egg whites, so after reading the reviews here I decided to add 1 egg white, which gave the cake more rise. I can't wait to try this with other cake/soda flavors. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I love this recipe and have experimented with different flavors of cake mix and diet soda. Spice cake with diet orange soda is my favorite. For those who say it doesn't rise enough but still want to cut fat and calories, add two egg whites rather than whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I used this with a reduced sugar cake mix and diet cola and it came out pretty good. My only complaint, like others have said, is that it does not rise very much. Next time I'll try adding the eggs back in & only substituting cola for the oil/butter and water to see if that helps. It's still not a "healthy" dessert but it's healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
10 STARS!!! Everyone loved it and it is gone after one meal! A MUST TRY for any doubters out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Super good!! I used a cherry coke and it was absolutely the moistest cake I have ever had. It was almost like a fudgy brownie. I like the fact that it doesn't have oil or anything in it either. Soo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States