Cola Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I used a white cake mix and a can of diet Sprite. I did add one egg white just incase and it turned out perfectly! It was a huge hit at the party last night and no one could tell anything was different. It saved about 50 calories per cupcake which is well worth it to me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was surprisingly good. I used chocolate cake with Diet Dr. Pepper and made into cupcakes. I have seen similar recipes that call for the addition of egg whites, so after reading the reviews here I decided to add 1 egg white, which gave the cake more rise. I can't wait to try this with other cake/soda flavors. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I love this recipe and have experimented with different flavors of cake mix and diet soda. Spice cake with diet orange soda is my favorite. For those who say it doesn't rise enough but still want to cut fat and calories, add two egg whites rather than whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I used this with a reduced sugar cake mix and diet cola and it came out pretty good. My only complaint, like others have said, is that it does not rise very much. Next time I'll try adding the eggs back in & only substituting cola for the oil/butter and water to see if that helps. It's still not a "healthy" dessert but it's healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
10 STARS!!! Everyone loved it and it is gone after one meal! A MUST TRY for any doubters out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Super good!! I used a cherry coke and it was absolutely the moistest cake I have ever had. It was almost like a fudgy brownie. I like the fact that it doesn't have oil or anything in it either. Soo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
The cake was flatter than normal cakes, but it still tasted great! The only down side to it was once I iced the cake it masked the cola flavor and tasted pretty much like regular chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
So easy with just two ingredients. Makes a really nice snack cake. I added a handful of mini chocolate chips, tasted great for a light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Okay, I was skeptical. I had had friends tell me they had tried this but hadn't myself. So today I did. It's great. You don't have to use chocolate cake mix. Any flav will work. I used white and used a can of pepsi one which made the cake a golden brown. It doesn't rise quite as high but the cake is very moist. Even my daughter who is challenged in the kitchen can make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Super fabulous! I was out of eggs, oil and milk. I did not have a chocolate cake mix but used a yellow cake mix and added 1/2 cup of unsweetened Hershey's cocoa. I also added semi-sweet chocolate chips which I had on hand. Amazing flavor and moistness. Didn't even feel the need to frost this cake after adding the chocolate chips. Easy, fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States