Cola Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Came out SUPER moist...I will admit, I had my doubts. But ever since I ran across this recipe, this is the technigue I use EVERY time I make a cake. I've tried it with Coke, Cherry Coke, Mountain Dew, Sprite and Sunkist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Okay, I was skeptical. I had had friends tell me they had tried this but hadn't myself. So today I did. It's great. You don't have to use chocolate cake mix. Any flav will work. I used white and used a can of pepsi one which made the cake a golden brown. It doesn't rise quite as high but the cake is very moist. Even my daughter who is challenged in the kitchen can make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJROBB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spring Creek, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is a great cake! Works great with diet drinks as well. Then the only calories in the cake is in mix. Good topped with light cool whip mixed with a little peanut butter. Cake is extremly moist and therefore keeps longer than tradional cakes. No one knows it was made with a soda unless it is revealed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by muddyh2os

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I loved the chocolate version, but wanted to try something different... so I made it with a french vanilla flavored cake mix, a can of diet mountain dew, and a can of well drained crushed pineapple. Laid the pineapple down in an even layer on the bottom of the pan, then poured the mixture over the top of it. When the cake was done, and cooled, turned it upside down on a platter, and served with fresh strawberries crushed up, and a drizzle of chocolate sauce, with whipped cream. Tasted like I'd slaved for HOURS... SO yummy! Could use sliced bananas in there too, and make it into banana split cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. CJR
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
10 STARS!!! Everyone loved it and it is gone after one meal! A MUST TRY for any doubters out there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. CJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winterport, Maine, USA
Living In: Live Oak, Florida, USA
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Super good!! I used a cherry coke and it was absolutely the moistest cake I have ever had. It was almost like a fudgy brownie. I like the fact that it doesn't have oil or anything in it either. Soo yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I love this recipe and have experimented with different flavors of cake mix and diet soda. Spice cake with diet orange soda is my favorite. For those who say it doesn't rise enough but still want to cut fat and calories, add two egg whites rather than whole eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YellowBird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
yummy, yummy, yummy! I had rave reviews for this cake! I made chocolate w/ coke and canned vanilla frosting. I am making the next one with cherry coke and chocolate :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALMEMOORE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Super fabulous! I was out of eggs, oil and milk. I did not have a chocolate cake mix but used a yellow cake mix and added 1/2 cup of unsweetened Hershey's cocoa. I also added semi-sweet chocolate chips which I had on hand. Amazing flavor and moistness. Didn't even feel the need to frost this cake after adding the chocolate chips. Easy, fast and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockhart, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
So easy with just two ingredients. Makes a really nice snack cake. I added a handful of mini chocolate chips, tasted great for a light cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States