Cognac Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I got rave reviews on this recipe. So quick and easy, but with good flavor. I found the sundried tomatoes lost some of their flavor when heated. Would suggest you add the sun dried tomatoes just before you are ready to serve. Lovely
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dorval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tera
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
A combination of some of our favorites: shallots (we used pearl onions, as we had them on hand), sun-dried tomatoes, and garlic! Added some extra sun-dried tomatoes, and a tablespoon or so of lemon juice (as other shrimp cognac beurre blanc recipes suggested - glad we did so, as may have been a bit bland without). But we otherwise followed the recipe as noted. (Though my bag of shrimp was only 10 oz., but we preferred as such, as it made for extra sauce.) Would be exceptional over pasta (whole grain especially). The sauce did take some time to thicken, but will definitely make again. (We had a "taste off." My husband preferred allrecipes.com "Basil Shrimp" and I preferred this one. So to each his own, though it's important to note the basil shrimp recipe was actually better as a leftover, as the flavors had time to intensify.) Appreciated this was a lighter spin on the classic shrimp cognac beurre blanc recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Followed the recipe to the letter, and wasn't disappointed. Only change was using heavy cream (had it on hand) instead of half-and-half which I admit added to the creaminess of this recipe. An elegant, impressive, and simple meal that I'd serve to company without hesitation. If you're looking for bold flavors, this isn't for you. This cream sauce is delicate and smooth. I only had medium-size shrimp in the freezer and, quite honestly, they were a little freezer burned. In spite of that, they turned out tender and succulent. My husband kept saying how much he liked this, so I suspect we may be having this quite often. Looks like the reviews for this recipe are all over the place, but I wouldn't change a thing. Jade, thanks for a fabulous new shrimp recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was delicious though I didn't use sun-dried tomatoes as I don't care for them. The sauce took more than 5 minutes to thicken, but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
loved this dish. the only changes that i made were to add a few slices of pancetta, diced, to the garlic and shallots. i did use the hot pepper flakes, and i used heavy cream instead of the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Sorry, I followed the recipe exactly, and my husband and I did not care for this at all. The cognac really overpowered the dish, that is all you could taste. The sauce was also extremely thin and needed to be thickened up. Sorry, I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I was very disappointed with this recipe, I had high hopes for it! I followed the recipe perfectly except that I could not find sun dried tomatoes so I used cherry tomatoes instead. The I also added some peppers for color and mushrooms for flavor. The dish just wasn't impressive, and I was over all disappointed. Not what I expected from an allrecipes recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joshua

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This recipe LIED...I don't see how it can POSSIBLY feed 4 people...the 2 of us put it away quite nicely (and I would have had more, if there had been any!). I used brandy intead of cognac, added cherry tomatoes to warm through, and served over rice spaghetti (for my gluten-intolerant sweetie)...I will be making this one again, for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was pretty tasty. Rice took longer to cook that the recipe states so if I were to cook it again I'd hold off on adding the veges. I don't like overcooked veges. I don't know if I needed the Cognac either. Think it would have been fine without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I like to substitute a lot. :) Since I didn't have half-and-half, I used evaporated milk (just about 1/3 C) with about 1 tsp. sugar. I also omitted the tomatoes, and used cayenne pepper (just a dash) rather than red pepper flakes. To save time, I tossed the shrimp in frozen, rather than thawing them first. Was very good over rotini noodles and I would make some variety of this again; might be even better if I made it as suggested! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anru7695

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Shrimp Scampi

This classic shrimp dish features a garlicky, addictive sauce.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Marinated Grilled Shrimp

Grilling marinated shrimp makes a fast, flavorful main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States