Coffeebar Chai Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Thank you!! I love this recipe!! only difference I made was to use Equal in place of sugar, and since it is sweeter I only added what amounted to 1 c. of sugar. don't omit the cloves as one suggested, doesn't taste like a chia tea w/o them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Fantastic chai. I did not add the milk, but put the "concentrate" in the fridge to make fresh chai each morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coffeybunny

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2013
Better than Starbucks Chai to me. I did change a few things. I used chai tea bags instead of black tea. And I didn't have cardamom so I used sprinkles of nutmeg and cinnamon. I loved it. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Easy comfort in a cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
The tea was a little bland, in my opinion. I added more ginger and cinnamon, but the flavor was not as strong as the chai I'm used to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I love this recipe as a great start to a great chai. I don't boil the tea bags. They can burst and can make the chai bitter. The same goes with the vanilla. Boiled vanilla ruins the delicate vanilla taste and can lead to bitter undertones. So, I follow the advice of SKID27 and let it simmer with the lid on for about 30 minutes, then I add the tea bags and vanilla and (with the lid on) turn off the heat and let it all steep for a good long while. It's up to how strong you like your tea, but I steep mine for about 20-30 minutes more. I pour it all in a mason jar and store it in the fridge (I don't add the milk). Whenever I want chai, I add my favorite milk and enough chai mix to taste. I've made this LOTS and given it as gifts to friends in litle pint-sized mason jars. They have all said that it's the best chai they've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Very tasty! I love chai tea latte, and, although this was not foamy, it was very good. I like my chai spicy so I doubled the spices and the spice level was perfect. Next time I may go a little easy on the honey because it was a touch too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Just as delicious (and addicting) as my favorite Oregon Chai concentrate! I figure mine is better though: because it's caffeine free made with organic green rooibos tea, and packed with antioxidants and other healthful benefits if I steep the tea at the end. Doubling the recipe, I boiled 4 cups water with 1/2 t cinnamon, 1/2 t cardamom, 1/2 t ginger, 1/4 t ground cloves, and 1/4 t nutmeg. After 5 minutes I stirred in 1 T green rooibos, 1 t vanilla, and 1/3 c raw honey. When the tea had steeped 10 minutes (rooibos does not become bitter because it does not have the tannins) I stirred in 4 c raw milk, gently reheated and strained through our metal coffee filter. Mmmmm!! The tiny bit we had leftover went into the refrigerator. It was just as wonderful chilled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This recipe is very good...my parents both loved it and I used a french press to serve the chai and separate the cloves and such from the tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Used this with Vanilla protein powder and milk. Warmed the milk like I would hot cocoa, mixed powder and added the spices. GREAT way to "drink" a meal. I eat a lot of protein and use shakes when I'm tired of chewing all that meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chai Tea Mix

With this simple homemade chai mix, you can have chai tea any time!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

Smooth Sweet Tea

See how to make a sweet Southern refresher.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States