Coffee Roasted Beef Chuck Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I didn't think I was going to like it because it didn't smell great but it turned out very good. I halved the recipe and used instant coffee. I put it in a pressure cooker for half an hour and I forgot to put the sour cream in the gravy but it was very good and a nice change from my regular pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne McClelland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My husband and i made this coffee braised beef. Delish, everyone wanted seconds, so easy. Thank you it's easy to feed your family with allreicpes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
EXCELLENT!!!! I'm not even hungry, and I can't stop eating it. Even if you don't like the taste of coffee, you will still love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
I made this exactly as written, and it smelled great, but tasted like NOTHING. Added worcestershire and beef bouillon, but it really didn't help at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Hmm, didn't much care for the flavor when this was finished. Had a plate and threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesageroma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Nothing special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
It was bitter and had no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birmobabe
Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was the worst pot roast that I have ever tasted.. gravy wise. The meat was pretty much OK. I tried to correct it, to no avail. It was bitter, and just totally off. I have tried many recipes from this site, all successful, except for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This recipe was a great jumping off place, and I give it five stars because it made me think in a different direction. I tweaked this recipe a bit, after reading some of the comments. I seasoned the roast in a combination of seasoned salt, black pepper, and cinnamon, then seared it in olive oil. I used a smaller roast than called for, so I used less coffee (4 cups), and added worchestershire sauce. I also added some dried rosemary and thyme to the braising liquid. I did find that the cooking time was far too long. I think it really only needed 2 hours (MAX!). Still, it came out absolutly yummy and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I made this almost exactly to the recipe. It was awesome. I tasted the coffee, I think. I'm going to try this on someone and not tell them there's coffee in it and see if they can place it. It's a very hearty, rich taste, anyway. I disagree with the people that say it tasted bland. It's just not real spicy. I might add some red wine next time, although, I liked it so much maybe not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States