Coffee Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
This is truly delicious! I've made it every 2 weeks since I found the recipe! You can't get any easier than this, but it tastes and looks so deluxe! I now add a couple of more chopped onions and I also add fresh carrots in the last 1 1/2 hours of cooking. With real mashed potatoes to go along with it - you're all set! My boyfriend loves it, as do my sister, aunt and mother. I can't wait to make it for my relatives during the holidays! I actually just made 2 roasts last night because we never have leftovers! The broth that is left is so rich with bits of all that great meat and flavors that I can't bear to throw it out and look forward to using it in other recipes! I thank Arianna for the gift of this recipe which has a permanent place in my personal recipe book! Victoria Matheus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I think my coffee was brewed too strong. The ROAST was great...the gravy had too strong a coffee flavor. I'll make it again...with weaker coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
This recipe is quick to prepare and tastes wonderful. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Have just finished making this, and my husband tasted the gravey and can't wait to dinner! Was very reluctant to try it, but very glad I did. I am now busy emailing recipe to family and friends! Just be sure coffee is fresh and not too strong. Great recipe. Katy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe and very easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Very tasty! I had to modify the recipe a bit to acommodate what was available to me. I used a rump roast instead of chuck. This was very nice, since it tasted just like a nice roast beef! First off, I had to use a crock pot. I didn't notice any significant change in cooking time when cooked on the "high" setting. Also, I don't have a coffee maker, so I used instant coffee. Unfortunately, I also think I made it too strong, but I was able to counteract it with some milk and sugar (hey, it works with regular coffee) and a splash of apple cider vinegar. Instead of regular canned mushrooms, I used a jar of italian marinated mushrooms and a jar of chantrelle mushrooms. They added a nice tangyness that I think I'll definitely duplicate next time. Absolutely try this recipe! Just remember to use decaf if you plan to eat it for dinner, or else you'll be dancing all night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
Great recipe, a real leap of faith for a person who hates coffee. But I tried it and was amazed. I will definatley be making this roast again. It inhances the beef flavor instead of masking it like so many other pot roast type recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
We have Sunday night dinners with our favorite friends. It was a huge hit with all of us and the men just kept on eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
Very good recipe! I was kind of reluctant because of the coffee but it was very good! I added a packet of Lipton's onion soup mix to the broth to add some flavor and it tasted great, even better the second night! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arrington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
I tried this recipe a couple of weeks ago. The roast was very good however, I think that I will use flour to make the gravy instead of cornstarch. I don't know if cornstarch can go bad, but I think that my cornstarch gave it a funny taste. I used fresh mushrooms in mine also. I think that I will try this recipe with an oven cooking bag to make it really low-maintenance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKA72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States