Coffee Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I liked the coffee flavor but thought the overall taste was pretty bland. I'm not sure how I would punch it up though. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Pretty Impressed I have done a brisket in a coffee wet rub, but never a roast in liquid coffee was not over powering at all. Very good and a must try for that old boring chuck roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MariaTheSoaper
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
We loved this recipe for all its simplicity, it was flavorful and rocked the next day as sandwiches! I used a really nice premium dark roast coffee, seasoned the chuck roast with salt/pepper prior to searing. I'm going to try this next time in the slow cooker as I'm not usually comfortable leaving the stove on for that long of time (toddler in the house!) and will try this in a dutch oven as well. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MariaTheSoaper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. I made the coffee as strong as I drink it, which is fairly strong. I also used the suggestion of onion soup and cream of mushroom soup. That may be the reason I did not taste the coffee. I did sear the roast well then cooked on low for two hours, hours after which I finished cooking in a pressure cooker for 40 minutes. It was very, very good. Very tender, moist and full of favor. I used half of the juice in the pressure cooker, then steamed broccoli with the rest.this is a definite "use again" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
We did not like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
The roast was very tender but no lavor or taste????. maybe i cooked to long??? I used a sirloin tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
OVERALL WAS A GOOD RECIPE. MY 11 YEAR OLD DID NOT CARE FOR THE COFFEE TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Not sure what to say about this. It was not inedible, but thankfully I used pretty weak coffee. I could taste too much burnt-coffee flavor. Thanks, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Well, the meat was tender. The gravy was nothing i would do again. Ever. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Yipes. No, no, no, no, no. No. NO. Coffee--good. Meat--good. Coffee AND meat--No. NO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States