Coffee Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I have mixed emotions about this recipe. My husband pronounced the roast as good (not his highest praise), but neither of us particularly cared for the gravy. I cooked it in my slow cooker, which helped keep the roast moist and tender, and like another reviewer, I added a package of dry onion soup mix to it. I think it added some flavor, but the taste of the coffee was just too strong and overpowering. I have a number of ways to cook a roast AND enjoy the gravy, so I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Although the roast came out very tender (I made it in my slow cooker), the flavor of the coffee completely overpowered the taste of the meat. My husband said, "If I had wanted chewable coffee, I would have asked for it!" The gravy was even worse, since the flavor of the coffee had acquired a burnt taste which was passed on to the gravy. I definitely won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
Yipes. No, no, no, no, no. No. NO. Coffee--good. Meat--good. Coffee AND meat--No. NO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
This recipe was fantastic! Not only did my children love it, my husband can't seem to stop talking about it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMLOVESTOBAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This recipe is fabulous. For those who dont like or drink coffee (my kids), you cant tell it was cooked in coffee. I like it for the fact that you dont have to have your oven on all day. The meat is incredibly tender, moist & well flavored. I use a packet of onion soup mix and a can of cream of mushroom soup into the coffee as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
Not sure what to say about this. It was not inedible, but thankfully I used pretty weak coffee. I could taste too much burnt-coffee flavor. Thanks, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
OVERALL WAS A GOOD RECIPE. MY 11 YEAR OLD DID NOT CARE FOR THE COFFEE TASTE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAREN325

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOOD , BUT I ADDED SUGAR TO THE COFFEE I DONT LIKE BLACK COFFEE AND I THINK IT HELPED IT ALOT GAVE THE MEAT A SWEETER TASTE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
The roast was very tender but no lavor or taste????. maybe i cooked to long??? I used a sirloin tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
Well, the meat was tender. The gravy was nothing i would do again. Ever. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States