Coffee Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2003
Although the roast came out very tender (I made it in my slow cooker), the flavor of the coffee completely overpowered the taste of the meat. My husband said, "If I had wanted chewable coffee, I would have asked for it!" The gravy was even worse, since the flavor of the coffee had acquired a burnt taste which was passed on to the gravy. I definitely won't be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Cooked in the slow cooker. Made for a nice change of pace in the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Whilst the roast turned out well and the flavour was not in any way offensive, I wouldn't really say that this recipe was very flavoursome. I like the recipe, however, for it's novelty value (ie the coffee)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
This was just not all that special. I did it in the crockpot and added a little onion soup mix as others suggested. To be honest, the gravy was lousy. It was like packaged or something. The meat was tender and good. The family thought it was neat that it had coffee in it but I probably would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
I THOUGHT THIS WAS GOOD , BUT I ADDED SUGAR TO THE COFFEE I DONT LIKE BLACK COFFEE AND I THINK IT HELPED IT ALOT GAVE THE MEAT A SWEETER TASTE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2002
This recipe is fabulous. For those who dont like or drink coffee (my kids), you cant tell it was cooked in coffee. I like it for the fact that you dont have to have your oven on all day. The meat is incredibly tender, moist & well flavored. I use a packet of onion soup mix and a can of cream of mushroom soup into the coffee as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2002
I made this roast for Christmas and at the same time made it for a neighbor. It certainly was a hit with my family and with the neighbor also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
My family loved this recipe! It was so easy and tasty. I have made it several times in my slow cooker and it has turned out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
I have mixed emotions about this recipe. My husband pronounced the roast as good (not his highest praise), but neither of us particularly cared for the gravy. I cooked it in my slow cooker, which helped keep the roast moist and tender, and like another reviewer, I added a package of dry onion soup mix to it. I think it added some flavor, but the taste of the coffee was just too strong and overpowering. I have a number of ways to cook a roast AND enjoy the gravy, so I would not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2001
This was wonderful! I used my rice cooker (it has a congee setting) and the roast turned out tender and flavourful. Thanks, Helen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Beef Pot Roast

This delicious pot roast is best made a day before serving.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States