Coffee Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
This is truly delicious! I've made it every 2 weeks since I found the recipe! You can't get any easier than this, but it tastes and looks so deluxe! I now add a couple of more chopped onions and I also add fresh carrots in the last 1 1/2 hours of cooking. With real mashed potatoes to go along with it - you're all set! My boyfriend loves it, as do my sister, aunt and mother. I can't wait to make it for my relatives during the holidays! I actually just made 2 roasts last night because we never have leftovers! The broth that is left is so rich with bits of all that great meat and flavors that I can't bear to throw it out and look forward to using it in other recipes! I thank Arianna for the gift of this recipe which has a permanent place in my personal recipe book! Victoria Matheus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
I think my coffee was brewed too strong. The ROAST was great...the gravy had too strong a coffee flavor. I'll make it again...with weaker coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
This recipe is quick to prepare and tastes wonderful. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Have just finished making this, and my husband tasted the gravey and can't wait to dinner! Was very reluctant to try it, but very glad I did. I am now busy emailing recipe to family and friends! Just be sure coffee is fresh and not too strong. Great recipe. Katy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe and very easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Very tasty! I had to modify the recipe a bit to acommodate what was available to me. I used a rump roast instead of chuck. This was very nice, since it tasted just like a nice roast beef! First off, I had to use a crock pot. I didn't notice any significant change in cooking time when cooked on the "high" setting. Also, I don't have a coffee maker, so I used instant coffee. Unfortunately, I also think I made it too strong, but I was able to counteract it with some milk and sugar (hey, it works with regular coffee) and a splash of apple cider vinegar. Instead of regular canned mushrooms, I used a jar of italian marinated mushrooms and a jar of chantrelle mushrooms. They added a nice tangyness that I think I'll definitely duplicate next time. Absolutely try this recipe! Just remember to use decaf if you plan to eat it for dinner, or else you'll be dancing all night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
Great recipe, a real leap of faith for a person who hates coffee. But I tried it and was amazed. I will definatley be making this roast again. It inhances the beef flavor instead of masking it like so many other pot roast type recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
We have Sunday night dinners with our favorite friends. It was a huge hit with all of us and the men just kept on eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
Very good recipe! I was kind of reluctant because of the coffee but it was very good! I added a packet of Lipton's onion soup mix to the broth to add some flavor and it tasted great, even better the second night! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arrington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
I tried this recipe a couple of weeks ago. The roast was very good however, I think that I will use flour to make the gravy instead of cornstarch. I don't know if cornstarch can go bad, but I think that my cornstarch gave it a funny taste. I used fresh mushrooms in mine also. I think that I will try this recipe with an oven cooking bag to make it really low-maintenance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKA72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States