Coffee Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2000
I expected the meat would taste good but I was pleasantly surpised at how good the gravy was! We will absolutely have this again and again in our family!!! I didn't have any mushrooms and I'm not to crazy about mushrooms anyway so I left those out. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2000
This was delicious!! My husband does not like coffee and couldnt believe it was cooked in coffee. It was juicy and tender. I chose to cook it in the crock pot for 5 hours. I also made it for a Thanksgiving potluck I went to and everyone raved about it and how good it was. Some of the juice that was left in the pan we used for a Au Jus for sandwiches the next day. The remainder I put in Ziplic bags and froze for later use. Great Recipe!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
We didn't like the taste of the roast. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
I made this receipe in the crockpot, which added to the ease of it. It is a nice change. I hated to waste all that nice gravy, so I thickened the whole pot of it (on the top of the stove) and froze a container of the gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2000
I tried this recipe a couple of weeks ago. The roast was very good however, I think that I will use flour to make the gravy instead of cornstarch. I don't know if cornstarch can go bad, but I think that my cornstarch gave it a funny taste. I used fresh mushrooms in mine also. I think that I will try this recipe with an oven cooking bag to make it really low-maintenance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEKA72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2000
Very good recipe! I was kind of reluctant because of the coffee but it was very good! I added a packet of Lipton's onion soup mix to the broth to add some flavor and it tasted great, even better the second night! My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Living In: Arrington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2000
We have Sunday night dinners with our favorite friends. It was a huge hit with all of us and the men just kept on eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2000
Great recipe, a real leap of faith for a person who hates coffee. But I tried it and was amazed. I will definatley be making this roast again. It inhances the beef flavor instead of masking it like so many other pot roast type recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
Very tasty! I had to modify the recipe a bit to acommodate what was available to me. I used a rump roast instead of chuck. This was very nice, since it tasted just like a nice roast beef! First off, I had to use a crock pot. I didn't notice any significant change in cooking time when cooked on the "high" setting. Also, I don't have a coffee maker, so I used instant coffee. Unfortunately, I also think I made it too strong, but I was able to counteract it with some milk and sugar (hey, it works with regular coffee) and a splash of apple cider vinegar. Instead of regular canned mushrooms, I used a jar of italian marinated mushrooms and a jar of chantrelle mushrooms. They added a nice tangyness that I think I'll definitely duplicate next time. Absolutely try this recipe! Just remember to use decaf if you plan to eat it for dinner, or else you'll be dancing all night. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
This is a great recipe and very easy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

How to Make a Roast

Watch how to make the perfect slow-cooked roast in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States