Coffee Mug Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This was so easy and tasted pretty good. I made it without the topping. I actually liked the dense and moist consistency of the cake due to being microwaved. I was looking for a super quick pastry recipe to use when my fruit salad turned juicier than I wanted it to (so I used it as a topping), and it was perfect topped with the berries. If I were to just eat this cake by itself, I would add a little more vanilla next time. I doubled the recipe and made it in a bowl; it worked great. Thank you, Adastra808.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I made this as a lemon cake which is my favorite. I omitted the cinnamon and brown sugar and substituted 1 tablespoon sugar instead. What a wonderful addition to my 1 serving recipes collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Table for One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I really love this idea. I added a couple drops of lemon extract and omitted the topping, replacing it with a sprinkle of powdered sugar. I am surprised at how tasty this was, if a bit chewy. Okay, very chewy, but the taste and the fact that I had a piece of cake to eat five minutes after reading this recipe more than make up for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Followed recipe as written; too sweet and a bit rubbery. Not crazy about the flavor; cinnamon too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PW1234

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
The best mug cake recipe I have tried. Only sub was to use yogurt instead of sour cream and did not have vanilla extract so left out. Just the right amount for a sweet treat. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Not bad. It's a mug cake, so not as good as the real thing, but close enough. I have made it a few times. I added cinnamon and nutmeg, and recently tried adding a few chocolate chips to the batter and liked it overall. I nixed the topping altogether and instead made a quick cream cheese frosting to put on top. Would have been good with or without the frosting. Over cooking made it dry. Does have a wet appearance even if it is done, so use the toothpick method. Can eat straight out of mug or plate it for a different look. Great when you are the only cake lover in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
Super rubbery...and yet dry at the same time, incredibly bland, and all in all unsatisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
I doubled the recipe and put it in a medium bowl. Very very good - and easy. Definitely satisfied my craving for a coffee cake - and I don't have to worry about eating an entire coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
it was so good...came out so nicely....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I've made this recipe several times and can conclude that is better with sour cream, but if you don't have that on hand cream cheese works great or use a whole egg and a splash of milk. This recipe could also be improved upon by using 2 tbsp. butter instead of 1. My personal favorite part of this recipe is by far the topping and I have found that it is delicious on toast just use margarine instead of butter and 2 tbsp. instead of 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States