Coffee Liqueur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We read all the reviews and made the following changes -- substituted 3cups expresso & 1 cup water for the 4 cups water, 2 cups each white & brown sugar instead of 4 cups white sugar , added 1/2 cup coco powder and 1 Tbsp brandy extract. Next time we will make a 1/2 batch as it will take us forever to go through 8 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Just made this recipe and it is wonderful. A tad on the sweet side though so I'm betting that most people will have to make this a few times to adjust the amount of sugar to get it correct. As for me, next time I will make it with 3 cups of sugar instead of 4 and I'm sure it will be perfect. Great recipe, just needs a little tweaking for sweetness. I will be making this again and again and......:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I used brewed coffee instead of the water and added 1/2 cup of cocoa powder. Delicious! Rich, creamy & decadent! I'm giving this as Holiday gifts this year and I'm re-using Grolsch beer bottles with the resealable lids to gift this in. Can't wait! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Home made coffee liqueur tastes so much better than the kind you buy in the store! I used Splenda to make this healthier. It made about 2 1/2 bottles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I make this recipe every year for the holidays. Having made it for a number of years now I have a few suggestions. First of all using 2 cups brown sugar and 2 cups white gives a more complex sweetness. Also I add 1/2 cup cocoa powder for a chocolate finish. Also you get a better coffee flavor when using espresso instead of coffee granules. And lastly I split the alcohol into 2 cups vodka and 2 cups brandy. Brandy complements the flavors better than straight vodka. Delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Very very good. You can really play with the flavor based on the coffee you use. My only caution is to make sure you buy enough vodka. My math was off in the milliliters to cups department and my first attempt was extremely weak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Made to go in Christmas gift baskets. Not much of a drinker myself but did try some before giving away and it seemed very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This was delicious! Much better than Kahlua. I made it as Xmas gifts and bottled it in beautiful bottles I got fom Pier One- it was a huge hit! I used a cheap bottle of vodka with no ill-effects.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I added 2 tbsp of Chicory (in a strainer) to the coffee mix. It cut the harshness of coffee for a full bodied flavor. My best yet.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barry MacNeil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out great. Served on ice with cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buffy S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Living In: Batavia, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Coffee Nudge

Hot coffee with three types of liqueur warms you from the inside out.

Mexican Coffee

Watch a professional bartender mix up a Mexican coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States