Coffee Liqueur Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2001
I received this liqueur in a gift exchange and I LOVE IT!! I have even made it for gifts myself. Great flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
A friend gave me homemade coffee liqueur several years ago and I just loved it. She made it with vanilla beans. I was thrilled to find this recipe that uses vanilla extract. Vanilla beans are extremely expensive when you are making as large of quantity as I did. I made it for my husband to share with his co-workers and our various friends. It is delicious and I plan to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
I've been using a similar recipe for years as Christmas gifts, and it is always appreciated. We love to serve it over ice cream, or mixed in milk. I even put about 1/2 cup in chili con carne. My recipe only uses 2 cups boiling water and a pint of brandy or vodka. Instead of the vanilla extract I use a vanilla bean cut in half and added to two clean bottles. It then sits for 60 days. This recipe is quicker to the finished product, but I still prefer the "fermenting" process. The recipe was given to me by an Army nurse at Fort Leavenworth, Kansas in 1966.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
I will never buy coffee liqueur again. This is just as good as anything you can buy in the store. Yummmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
The best recipe for kahlua I've tried. The coffee flavor comes out very bold and smooth. Much richer than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
This was very easy and makesa nice gift during the Holiday's. I went to dollar store and got some abstract looking bottles for the presentation & every one loved It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENI HINES

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Grande, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
On a whim I decided to whip this up, very nervous at how it would turn out. I was very pleasantly surprised. I cut the recipe in half and just used the cheapest vodka I could find. This still made enough to fill an empty wine bottle and then some! It is very tasty but I am going to let it sit for a month and see how good it is then. I really like that this doesn't call for a vanilla bean b/c I was going to use one until I found out how much they cost. OUCH! Just make sure and use real vanilla extract, not imitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Tastes just like Khaula! I never knew you could make this, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Very simple, very quick, I added a splash more vanilla to smooth the coffee flavor some. I will make this every year for gifts! Taste wonderful with quite a kick. I used a lower grade vodka, no reason at all to break the bank!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonya511

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2004
This is a great recipe. It is hard to imagine a coffee liqueur better than this! I did modify it a little. I used de-caf coffee grinds instead of instant, same quantity, simmering it for about 10 minutes and straining it with my coffee maker's filter. Otherwise the recipe was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Coffee Nudge

Hot coffee with three types of liqueur warms you from the inside out.

Mexican Coffee

Watch a professional bartender mix up a Mexican coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States