Coffee Liqueur Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Didn't have coffee liqueur so just made up 1/2 cup of strong coffee and soaked the raisins in that. Just had a handful of chocolate chips and added them too - moving, so getting rid of stuff in the pantry! For some reason, I don't like "puffy" cookies, prefer them flat, so flattened the mounded teaspoons with a wet fork. Halved the sugar (as I always do in recipes) as well. Very nice, not overly sweet and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindhawk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I cut this in half. Probably not the best recipe to cut in half because the dough was really loose. I ended up adding almost another whole cup of oatmeal and another 1/2 cup of flour. As is, this is a nice basic oatmeal cookie. The Kahlua adds a nice flavor. I think that the walnuts and white chocolate chips should be a must for this cookie instead of being optional. That would have really taken your average oatmeal-raisin cookie and made it extraordinary. NOTE: If you are baking this at 350*, 11 minutes is about right for a soft cookie. This makes more of a cake-y cookie, not necessarily chewy. Half a batch made 31 medium sized cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I made the recipe exactly as written. Cookies were good, but couldn't detect the liqueur... Cookies were very cake like, not chewy. Recipe is good, but not stellar. If I were to make it again, I'd substitute coffee (or liqueur) for some of the milk, and reduce the leavening agents (soda/powder) slightly. Overall = Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Great!! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
These cookies were great. I had a problem with them sticking to my cookie sheet but that was probably my fault. All the flavors worked very well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JohnnyGo

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Doesn't taste nearly as much like coffee as I would have guessed/hoped but still a QUALITY recipe. I halved it (as such) but also lightened it up a bit. I substituted light margarine for the shortening but would have also liked to have tried applesauce instead. I used non-stick non-fat cookin spray instead of greasing the pans (which worked like a charm). I switched half the brown sugar for an equal amount of Splenda cooking sweetener. Also since I was halving the recipe and 3 eggs doesn't "halve" neatly, I just used a whole carton of egg substitute (which is the equivalent of 2 eggs). With all those changes the cookies came out very flavorful and cake-like. I do prefer chewey cookies but that's the price you pay for excluding the shortening. I included the walnuts but not the white chocolate. Making these changes yields a very tasty light cookie. I did cook half on an air bake pan and half on a regular pan and the air bake ones turned out a little less than my liking but otherwise still tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2002
Sorry, but...Gross! Ewwww! Sounded good though.=)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
These were okay--but didnt have as much flavor as I thought they would. Still a good cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ambler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Medford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
Even though this recipe if a little time consuming, it's well worth the effort. I made a batch for our Eagle's Auxillary bake sale and everyone that tasted them said they were the best cookie they had ever eaten. Dolly from Indiana
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
A little more trouble than conventional oatmeal cookies, but definately worth it. Lots of stuff to be added by kids...they love that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States