Coffee Liqueur Ice Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This is one of the best ice cream desserts I have had in a long time. Its unique flavor is punctuated by the Kahlua. Everyone at my dinner party enjoyed this flavorful concoction. I used coffee ice cream and chocolate ice cream. This is definitely an adult dessert, so I had to make a separate cake without the Kahlua for the grandchildren. Thanks Arvila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I am very proud because I made this pie with home made Coffee Liqueur and even made ice-cream myself. I used 5 ingredient ice-cream from this site, it makes exactly 2 pints, so I just added a couple of teaspoons of cocoa powder into 1 pint. It was even easier than with store bought ice-cream, as I didn't have to defrost it to blend in Coffee Liqueur. Very satisfying taste, though I would recommend using good commercially produced ice-cream for a creamier pie. And it is easy and impressive looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TequilaGirl

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
I loved it and our guests loved it. I used an Oreo store bought crust which made it even easier. I didn't have chocolate ice cream, so added chocolate syrup to the top layer of ice cream with the Kahlua. Watch out for that middle chocolate layer - it will get you. Perfect to take to someone's house - easy, impressive, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I cannot believe how easy this is and so few people have tried this wonderful dessert. By using a premade Oreo cookie pie crust and Cool Whip, this was a breeze to make for Valentine's Day. We both thought it's one of our favorite desserts. If you like mud pie, you'll love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by misstanai
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is amazing! I used a store bought oreo pie crust to save time. I added a french vanilla kahlua to the vanilla ice cream and used a mocha kahlua for the choclate ice cream and choclate sauce. Not sure if the flavored kahlua made a difference in taste or not, I was just using what I had on hand. I added cool whip as a topping with a decorative coating of melted choclate. Will be making this again and again. Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misstanai

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Oh wow, this was quite good. I could not find chocolate wafers, so I used a pre-made chocolate crust instead. Also, instead of whipped cream on top, I sprinkled finely crushed Oreos. The crunch was a great contrast to the creamy ice cream. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULIEUNC1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Four stars as written, but not difficult to elevate to 5- star perfection. First, half a cup of butter in the crust is excessive and I can only see that the crust would be greasy, just saturated with butter. Half that amount worked well. Second, when I ran the recipe by Hubs and asked for his thoughts he remarked, “Sounds like an awful lot of hooch to me.” My sentiments exactly – not only a lot of “hooch,” but the boldly flavored coffee liqueur at that; 10 T. total! Not wanting to take chances on a too boozy flavored outcome, I made some changes. I did use the 6 T. of coffee liqueur in the chocolate filling (I used Kahlua) but I added nothing to the vanilla ice cream. To the chocolate ice cream I added 2 T. of the more subtle Bailey’s Irish Cream Liqueur and skipped the Kahlua altogether. The Kahlua/Bailey’s combination worked well together; a pleasant amount of liqueur flavor without tasting like a frozen cordial. Also, this pie will only be as good as the ingredients you use – a homemade chocolate cookie crumb crust made with real butter, premium quality ice cream (Hubs did a fine job shopping for that for me), and fresh whipped cream. I topped the entire pie with chocolate curls, then served each slice with a garnish of whipped cream, mint leaves and chocolate covered coffee beans. This couldn’t be a simpler dessert to prepare and you couldn’t ask for prettier, more delicious results. This may just be a redo for Christmas when the kids all come home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
quite nice but needs quite a bit of time for all the refreezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Delia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whangarei, Northland, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
This was very good taste wise, but the liqueur causes the pie to not set like you would expect and it melts very fast. I will make this again, but without the crust and in a glass. It would make a great adult layered dessert drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Lindsey Gibson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Ice Cream Sandwich Dessert

See how to turn ice cream sandwiches into an impressive ice cream cake!

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States