Coffee Liqueur I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
This tastes like coffee extract to me, after only a month of having it stored in a dark, cool place in my garage. I used an off-brand of brandy instead of vodka, mixed up white and dark brown sugar about half each until I had 3 cups of sugar, and used two split vanilla beans I then tied in cheesecloth before I put them in each of the two bottles I used to make this. Yum! I cannot wait to make tiramisu with it now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
The flavor is fantastic when compared to a side by side comparison with the off-the-shelf stuff (it tasted so syrupy, I guess I've ever had it straight before). The coffee has such a distinct flavor and rich, deep aftertast. The only thing was I thought it was soooooooo sweet and will decrease the simple sugar recipe to 1:1 next time. Used old screw top wine bottles and a cheap glass bottle from Ikea with a plastic cork, air tight bottle. My white Russian ePassport caramel colored, almost like a well made chocolate milk. I wish more people liked coffee flavored stuff so I could share! I honestly don't know how I can go back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This was great. I didn't have instant espresso powder, so I just subbed strong coffee for the water in the recipe, and used that to boil into syrup. I also didn't have a vanilla bean, so I added a tablespoon of extract once the syrup had cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
Recipe has been updated to remove ambiguity about ounces measure for the instant coffee. One 2 ounce jar or 2 ounces by weight are needed for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I spent the day making 4 different batches of liqueur (for holiday gifts) and this one was our favorite. I have a question that arises every time I made this... Re: the 2 oz. of espresso - I buy 2 oz. bottles of instant espresso. This is 2 oz. by WEIGHT (not volume). So do I use the entire bottle (3/4 cup) or do I measure 2 oz. in a measuring cup (1/4 cup)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This makes an excellent liqueur and so easy to make! I made it for Christmas gifts last year and everyone loved it. Of course, I kept some for myself. Pour it over crushed ice with a splash of half and half. It's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEXASNANA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I made this as a Christmas gifts. It was a huge hit. I used both vodka and brandy. I prefer the Brandy. My husband always wants me have some on hand. I can't tell enough people about this. The name brand coffee liqueur is so expensive. We will never buy it at the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This was excellent and worth the wait! It was just delicious, and even a little syrupy, just like the name brand. When I first made this, a month ago, I never could find espresso powder. Instead, I used coffee extract, the whole bottle, which I believe was about 2 ounces. Also, I used 3 cups of white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I put the whole concoction in a large mason jar with a tight lid and sat it on a shelf in the garage for a month. I poured it into my fancy glass decanters (it filled up two of them), and my husband and I enjoyed our first little glass of it last night in front of the fire while watching "A Christmas Story". Life doesn't get any better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I made this some time ago. It wasn't quite like the popular name brand and so it didn't make our favorite mixed drink like we're used to. But it was good in coffee, on ice cream, with coke.... Not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
Fan-freakin-tastic!!! Perfect recipe for summer drinks. This stuff is GREAT! and it keeps getting better the longer it sits... we just finished it and am about to make more. Thanks Lori!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

Coffee Nudge

Hot coffee with three types of liqueur warms you from the inside out.

Irish Coffee Cocktail

Irish whiskey, hot coffee, and whipped cream knock out winter’s chill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States