Coffee Ice Cream Fudge Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2001
I made this for my fiance's birthday and everyone LOVED it! Some said that it was the best dessert they ever tasted and none of them could believe that I actually made it myself! It is a great treat to make for both adults and children. Pour a little 151 bacardi over it and light it on fire to make the treat extra special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather U Ward Hurley
Living In: Poultney, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I get asked to make this cake for birthday parties/going away parties. It is so easy, you cannot screw it up, and you can mix it up easily by using different ice creams. What I did for a change was use the fudge at the bottom of the pan, and pour evenly on top oreo cookie crumbs, freeze it, then do an ice cream layer, then freeze it, do another layer of fudge/cookie, freeze, do another layer of ice cream, freeze. Works out really really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Fantastic! But this is not a cake, it is a pie, also, a kitchen torch will toast the marshmallows nicely without melting the ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hermosa Beach, California, USA
Living In: Gardena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
I made this ice cream cake for my husband b-day and he really enjoyed it. I did make a few changes, but that's the fun part about recipes you can tweek them to your liking. Instead of graham crackers I substituted oreo cookies and sprinkled the toasted almonds over the coffee ice cream. I also used up the rest of the heavy whipping cream and made whipped cream to place on top instead of the toasted marshmallows. I thought the marshmallows would be to sweet. It was very easy and I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
Positively addicting! We subsituted the coffee ice cream for vanilla or chocolate, and it is wonderful either way. I couldn't stop eating it! Try it and you will LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made this for my son's 19th birthday. He doesn't like cake, loves coffee in any form, especially ice cream, and he was super happy with this. I didn't add the mini marshmallows, decorated the marshmallow creme instead. My husband said this was the best ice cream cake he has ever had! We especially love the fudge sauce recipe. I used a premium baking bar of bittersweet chocolate (60% Cacao), and it was just the right sweetness. The fudge sauce keeps perfectly in the frig, then we just heat for 15 - 25 seconds in the microwave. YUMMY! We are having it as a dip for strawberries and pineapple for tonight's dessert! Thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I LOVE this cake and so does everyone in my family! Instead of marshmellow fluff I used cool whip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I'd give this recipe a 10 star!!! This was AWESOME, instead of coffee ice cream I used chocolate. Afraid it may turn out too sweet, I subsituted 60% cocoa chocolate chips for semi-sweet and it was perfect! Also, I thought putting it under a broiler might melt the ice cream too quickly so instead, I used a flame torch (used for creme bruele) on the marshmallow. I ended up not using the marshmallow cream, didn't need it. I knew it was a keeper after I tasted it and someone told me it was good enough to sell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I'm in the middle of making the crust and wondering....how much butter am I supposed to be using???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My daughter chose this for her birthday 'cake' this year and it got rave reviews. It's super easy to make. I don't have a food processor, so I just mashed up the graham crackers with a rolling pin, and luckily I had bought slivered almonds, so I just left them as they were. I did use fat-free evaporated milk in place of the cream in the chocolate sauce as I always do and it was fine. I agree that this would work with most any kind of ice cream. I think next time I would definitely use a coffee chip flavor, or coconut chip would be awesome. I was a little leery of the marshmallow cream and marshmallows--it just seemed weird--and especially of putting an ice cream pie in the broiler, but it was a great touch, and I think it was what made it special. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States